Electrical Wiring In Basement - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-23-2012, 02:01 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

electrical wiring in basement


Hello,

I'm looking to run a few circuits in my home and the electric panel is on the bottom floor of a slab home. I'm thinking of running wire along top edge of cinder blocks (along sill plate) on top edge of foundation. Is this safe, or should I cut ceiling down and wire thru joists? Any suggestions/help would be great.

Advertisement

Marc Frederick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 02:20 PM   #2
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,804
Rewards Points: 2,282
Default

electrical wiring in basement


Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc Frederick View Post
I'm looking to run a few circuits in my (SLAB) home...
Any suggestions/help would be great.
What is ABOVE the living space?

Ideally... you'll have (or make) access through the floor joists to where it's convenient to then go up to the room you want the power or to a convenient place to go up to the "attic"... and from there over to where you can take the wires down to where you want the power.

Going outside and around the house is sometimes needed,
I've done it myself twice... but only as a last resort (or real short run).

hth

Advertisement


Last edited by TarheelTerp; 03-23-2012 at 02:23 PM.
TarheelTerp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 02:32 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

electrical wiring in basement


Thanks for the reply.

I don't need power above the room. I wanted to add some power to the room and to the adjoining room on the same floor. Running the power right along the top of the cinderblock foundation is the straightest shot. I just don't know if it is code.

Thanks
Marc Frederick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 03:04 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

electrical wiring in basement


IMHO going outside the house and back inside is a complete hack job and should never be accepted. Even if the cable is outdoor rated which it would have to be.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 03:54 PM   #5
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,360
Rewards Points: 3,514
Blog Entries: 4
Default

electrical wiring in basement


Is it a slab or a basement? It can't be both.
The cable must be protected from damage.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electric circuit , electrical wiring , wiring in basement , wiring problem


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to - prevent basement mold crazymountain How To Guides 36 07-23-2014 07:02 PM
Heat for a basement with Pellt Stove on Main Floor magnum44 HVAC 1 11-20-2011 09:55 AM
wiring 3 way switch for basement juliotjs Electrical 2 09-19-2009 06:24 AM
wiring basement lighting 8roty Electrical 21 07-26-2009 11:33 PM
Electrical problem, bad wiring? mumblemouth Electrical 10 08-09-2008 12:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts