Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-29-2011, 12:34 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

electrical wiring


I want to know if it worth re-wiring my house wile I have sheet rock down.
The house was built in the early 60's.
It has circuit breakers and 2 conductor 12 gauge wiring with ground, but I have never seen this type of wire. It is labeled "Diamond DTX 12-2-6 Type NM 600 volt".
It is like Romex except it has a cloth like coating instead of PVC.
It is copper wire.


Last edited by edgodfrey; 12-29-2011 at 01:12 PM. Reason: more detail
edgodfrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 12:39 PM   #2
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Rewards Points: 0
Default

electrical wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by edgodfrey
I want to know if it worth re-wiring my house wile I have sheet rock down.
The house was built in the early 60's.
It has circuit breakers and 2 conductor 12 gauge wiring with ground, but I have never seen this type of wire. It is labeled "Diamond DTX 12-2-6 Type NM 600 volt".
It is like Romex except it has a cloth like coating instead of PVC.
Is it copper?

__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Julius793 For This Useful Post:
edgodfrey (12-29-2011)
Old 12-29-2011, 01:00 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Default

electrical wiring


yes it is copper.
edgodfrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 01:25 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 718
Rewards Points: 0
Default

electrical wiring


One thing that may be an issue is the temperature rating of the cable. If you've ever changed out any fixtures, you'd probably see a label indicating it needs wire rated at 90C. Prior to about '85 60C wire was common.

Is it in good shape? No damage?

Regardless of what you decide to do with the wire, I'd certainly run any additional circuits that you want now or even split up existing circuits if you wish.
AandPDan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 02:09 PM   #5
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,582
Rewards Points: 94
Default

electrical wiring


I would not change the exsititng cable unless it was damaged.
Since the walls are open you MIGHT be required to bring everything to current code. If so , that means you might need to add more receptacles if there aren't enough to meet the current 6/12 rule. AFCIs and GFCIs will be required. Neutrals in switch box will be required. TR receptacles.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Schedule 40 PVC in Chicago? franwalker Electrical 56 12-20-2011 10:04 PM
Basement Electrical Wiring Question psqually Electrical 11 05-15-2011 04:18 PM
Electrical wiring! Kyle1971 Electrical 7 04-25-2011 04:53 PM
electrical wiring home ? dcjcdc Electrical 19 07-27-2010 08:38 AM
How can I tell if there is electrical wiring beneath kitchen tiles? Mr T Electrical 8 01-04-2009 04:40 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.