Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-25-2011, 07:22 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Electrical Wiring


I am in the process of replacing an electric stove top with a gas stove top. The gas top requires 120 volt connection. Can I use the same wire (on its own dedicated circuit) and replace the 240 breaker with a breaker that supports 120?

Jcrawf1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 07:27 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 229
Default

Electrical Wiring


No...

OhioHomeDoctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 07:48 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 120
Default

Electrical Wiring


Yes, you can down fuse the wiring to a 20amp breaker and swap the wiring to one hot, one neutral and one ground
heartlessmcfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 08:42 PM   #4
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

Electrical Wiring


Probably not if you didn't have a neutral there before.
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 08:45 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,290
Default

Electrical Wiring


do the proper thing and install new 12 -2 wire on 20 breaker to your new cook top so you won't have any problems. best way..right way
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ben's plumbing For This Useful Post:
Jim Port (11-25-2011), Speedy Petey (11-25-2011)
Old 11-25-2011, 08:55 PM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,798
Default

Electrical Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by OhioHomeDoctor View Post
No...
Care to explain further?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 08:55 PM   #7
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,798
Default

Electrical Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Bound View Post
Probably not if you didn't have a neutral there before.
The IS a neutral. It is the ground he may not have.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 08:56 PM   #8
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,798
Default

Electrical Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by ben's plumbing View Post
do the proper thing and install new 12 -2 wire on 20 breaker to your new cook top so you won't have any problems. best way..right way
I fully agree. This way you also still have the existing larger 120/240v line if you ever need it again.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (11-26-2011)
Old 11-26-2011, 12:36 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3
Default

Electrical Wiring


Thanks for the replies and advise. I do have a second option as I have existing 120 volt outlets already wired to the cooking Island. I just need to determine if the cooktop requires a dedicated circuit.

Jcrawf1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basement Electrical Wiring Question psqually Electrical 11 05-15-2011 04:18 PM
Electrical wiring! Kyle1971 Electrical 7 04-25-2011 04:53 PM
electrical wiring new construction 63Falcon Electrical 1 11-07-2010 03:31 PM
electrical wiring home ? dcjcdc Electrical 19 07-27-2010 08:38 AM
How can I tell if there is electrical wiring beneath kitchen tiles? Mr T Electrical 8 01-04-2009 04:40 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.