Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-03-2011, 09:55 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Electrical wires near/touching supply ducts?


New to the board. Good to be here. Can electrical be run with (next to, touching, parallel) flex forced air supply ducts?

Borgs8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 11:04 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

Electrical wires near/touching supply ducts?


Yes, cables and conduits can run parallel to duct work and can touch each other. You cannot use the duct to support the cable though.

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 11:13 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2
Default

Electrical wires near/touching supply ducts?


many thanks. i am not sure i understand what you mean by "support", however. again, many thanks. my main concern is electrical wires and a junction box touching the flex duct for the forced air heat.
Borgs8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 11:27 AM   #4
RST
DIY Homeowner
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 169
Default

Electrical wires near/touching supply ducts?


OP - by "support" he means the duct should not carry the weight of the wire. Wires can not just be hanging in the air. Boring holes in joists (NOT TRUSSES) or using a running board are examples of POSSIBLE acceptable alternatives - check local electrical and building codes.

J.V., does your answer also apply to uninsulated round or rectangular ducts? Or do I need to insulate them first?

RST
RST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 08:26 AM   #5
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Default

Electrical wires near/touching supply ducts?


Quote:
Originally Posted by RST View Post
J.V., does your answer also apply to uninsulated round or rectangular ducts? Or do I need to insulate them first?
You can run wires in that situation.

In a home there are very few regs relating to separation distance from any thing. There are requirements to derate wire or to use wiring methods acceptable for the location.

But only the Urban Legend Electrical code says things like:
Can't run wires within X distance of water pipes
Can't run wires next to gas lines(don't recommend it)
No Wire Nuts in a Panel
__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Saturday Cowboy For This Useful Post:
RST (02-04-2011)
Old 02-04-2011, 10:40 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

Electrical wires near/touching supply ducts?


Quote:
Originally Posted by RST View Post
J.V., does your answer also apply to uninsulated round or rectangular ducts? Or do I need to insulate them first?

RST
No. It does not matter if its insulated or not.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to J. V. For This Useful Post:
RST (02-04-2011)
Old 02-04-2011, 10:50 AM   #7
RST
DIY Homeowner
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 169
Default

Electrical wires near/touching supply ducts?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Saturday Cowboy View Post
You can run wires in that situation.

In a home there are very few regs relating to separation distance from any thing. There are requirements to derate wire or to use wiring methods acceptable for the location.

But only the Urban Legend Electrical code says things like:
Can't run wires within X distance of water pipes
Can't run wires next to gas lines(don't recommend it)
No Wire Nuts in a Panel
ULEC! Funny!
RST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 12:30 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 102
Default

Electrical wires near/touching supply ducts?


GRRRR I hate when people screw up and put wire nuts in a panel . Not that it is wrong just the fact that it looks like crap.
proremodel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 06:33 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 978
Default

Electrical wires near/touching supply ducts?


Quote:
Originally Posted by proremodel
GRRRR I hate when people screw up and put wire nuts in a panel . Not that it is wrong just the fact that it looks like crap.
What??
jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 10:33 AM   #10
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Default

Electrical wires near/touching supply ducts?


Quote:
Originally Posted by proremodel View Post
GRRRR I hate when people screw up and put wire nuts in a panel . Not that it is wrong just the fact that it looks like crap.
agreed quilty
__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 10:34 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

Electrical wires near/touching supply ducts?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jlmran View Post
What??
Wire nuts and other connections can be made in panels. Panels can be used as raceways in most instances also.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 01:34 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 978
Default

Electrical wires near/touching supply ducts?


I know. I was questioning the 'anger'. Some folks really need help with priorities.
jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 02:23 PM   #13
Electrical Supplier
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 205
Default

Electrical wires near/touching supply ducts?


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
Wire nuts and other connections can be made in panels. Panels can be used as raceways in most instances also.
You can also remove the bussing and use it as a giant junction box provided you have a cover for it. This is common with fuse panels that get converted to breaker panels at the same amperage.
__________________
"Do it right the first time and avoid duplication of effort"

Your AHJ/Inspectors ALWAYS have the final say on ANY electrical code issue.
If in doubt, contact a licensed, experienced, reputable electrician to perform the work.
LyonsElecSupply is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 01:16 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 102
Default

Electrical wires near/touching supply ducts?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jlmran View Post
I know. I was questioning the 'anger'. Some folks really need help with priorities.
One of those quality control things. Don't start cutting your wire until you figured out you have enough to get to the bottom of the box.
proremodel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 06:57 AM   #15
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,810
Default

Electrical wires near/touching supply ducts?


Quote:
Originally Posted by proremodel View Post
One of those quality control things. Don't start cutting your wire until you figured out you have enough to get to the bottom of the box.
Well yeah. For new work no kidding. What about a panel change?
You think it "looks like crap"?? Seriously? I'd MUCH rather see a few wire nuts in a panel (ABSOLUTELY LEGAL btw) than several splice boxes above it.

Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 09:33 AM
Help needed on electrical question Partisan Electrical 9 02-25-2009 02:00 PM
electrical supply Darren Briggs Electrical 7 02-14-2009 04:46 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM
Furnace Electrical Supply.... caseywa HVAC 2 12-28-2006 10:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.