Electrical Trouble Shoot - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-16-2012, 04:06 PM   #16
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,759
Rewards Points: 1,102
Default

Electrical trouble shoot


I agree with gac66610 in post #10. The BX is a switch loop. There is no neutral at the box.

Advertisement

__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 03:36 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical trouble shoot


I removed the two power feeds, junction box. Removed Armorlite cable causing the dead short on the first switch. Placed junction box in basement for Armorlite cable to Romex cable for power feed. I found a ground short in one of the boxes for the scone fixtures in the wall. Pulled all of my switches out and re-did the junction box. I wrapped all my neutrals together twisted with dikes, wire nut, and e tape. I did the same with my grounds and hots as they should be. Still when I energize the line no lights. I am baffled! I'm thinking to myself; What am I missing? It looks right but it still doesn't work.
FYI, this is an old house that had tube and knob. 90% of that is gone. I have only a few grounded outlets. There has too be something else in the line that is causing the problem and I can't seem to find the problem.
Regards,
Leonard
Attached Thumbnails
Electrical trouble shoot-img_7207.jpg   Electrical trouble shoot-img_7204.jpg   Electrical trouble shoot-img_7203.jpg  
Leonard 7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 03:58 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,611
Rewards Points: 2,130
Default

Electrical trouble shoot


which cable is bringing power into the 4-gang switch box??
Attached Thumbnails
Electrical trouble shoot-img_7207.jpg  
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 04:25 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical trouble shoot


Cable A is the power feed. B is the wall light and scones, C is the celling light over the toilet, D is the celling fan, and E is the celling light over the tub.
Leonard 7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 06:53 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,611
Rewards Points: 2,130
Default

Electrical trouble shoot


Can you test for voltage across the black and white conductor of cable "A"? Not with a pen tester. with a meter.
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 06:59 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,611
Rewards Points: 2,130
Default

Electrical trouble shoot


Quote:
Originally Posted by Leonard 7 View Post
Cable A is the power feed. B is the wall light and scones, C is the celling light over the toilet, D is the celling fan, and E is the celling light over the tub.
If you have 115 volts across the conductors of cable "A", you can test each fixture like the following.
To test the wall light and scones, wire nut the black wires of cables A and B together and wire nut the white wires of cable A and B together.

If the wall light comes on, the switch is bad.
Attached Thumbnails
Electrical trouble shoot-img_7207-b-test.jpg  
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hammerlane For This Useful Post:
Leonard 7 (12-17-2012)
Old 12-17-2012, 07:00 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,611
Rewards Points: 2,130
Default

Electrical trouble shoot


Do the same with the wires of cable "C" to see if the ceiliing light over the toilet works.
Attached Thumbnails
Electrical trouble shoot-img_7207-c-test.jpg  
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 07:12 PM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical trouble shoot


Hammerlane, thank you that's exactly what I was going to do after a supper brake.

L.D.
Leonard 7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 10:35 PM   #24
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Electrical trouble shoot


The armor cable is in a JB in the basement, can you tell where it comes from?
Switch, receptacle, light, or panel.
The GFCI receptacle, next to the switches, is working, have you tried a temporary feed from it to check lights.
Guess I'm not convinced the armor cable is a feed, with a hot and neutral.
But, I can only guess.
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Gac66610 For This Useful Post:
Leonard 7 (12-17-2012)
Old 12-19-2012, 03:34 PM   #25
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical trouble shoot


I checked all feed lines they light up. All switches work as they should. The BX cable is the feed that goes to a knife switch with a fuse to anther fuse box that feed five outlets in separate rooms (not really happy with that). I took one out let that had a splice feed (X) into the power BXD cable in one wall. I keep thinking I have too much on this line and need to run a separate line for the bathroom only from the main box (So much for simple).
Leonard 7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 06:07 PM   #26
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Electrical trouble shoot


I don't believe you have too much on that circuit. Five receptacles and a few lights should work just fine.
Does sound like a strange setup, from knife switch to another fuse panel, (think I said that right).
As long as you're sure you have 120v to the switches, using a voltmeter/multi-meter
Have you tried hammerlanes suggestion on pig-tailing?
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 06:15 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,611
Rewards Points: 2,130
Default

Electrical trouble shoot


Quote:
Originally Posted by Leonard 7 View Post
I checked all feed lines they light up. All switches work as they should.
OK...so what is the poblem now. You have power to the switch location.
-Pigtail from the hot conductor of the incoming power cable to one terminal of each switch,

-then attach the switch leg of each device to the other terminal of each switch.

-wire nut all neutrals together
Attached Thumbnails
Electrical trouble shoot-dfuhqer7.jpg  
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 06:25 PM   #28
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical trouble shoot


I hooked it up exactly as the drawing you posted and nothing! One switch works add one more and nothing.
Leonard 7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 06:27 PM   #29
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Electrical trouble shoot


Well. I meant the one bypassing the switches, I use 'pig-tailing' on a broad term, sorry.
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 06:37 PM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,611
Rewards Points: 2,130
Default

Electrical trouble shoot


Quote:
Originally Posted by Leonard 7 View Post
I hooked it up exactly as the drawing you posted and nothing! One switch works add one more and nothing.

But if you wire each switch individually, each device attached to the switch works?

Do this for each switch by itself.
Attached Thumbnails
Electrical trouble shoot-dfuhqer7.jpg  

Advertisement

hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Basement Bathroom / Laundry Room Electrical Circuit(s) Rookie11 Electrical 5 12-11-2012 09:52 PM
Electrical loading question jimcorey Electrical 2 12-08-2012 08:27 AM
How to install new electrical box without attic access gilmores33 Electrical 10 02-14-2010 08:46 PM
Electrical feedback coming through electrical system..Did it fry my laptop? CTroxtell Electrical 14 11-21-2009 05:36 PM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 10:33 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts