Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-04-2013, 02:17 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Electrical timer box and sub panel


For my pool timer, 220 running in on two legs of 3 wire...so the white and the black are hot and a ground, no nuetral. My old chlorination used to be hard wired into this and ran off 220 as well. However I got a new chlorinator that you simply plug into an outlet. If you were looking at the wall the pool timer that runs the pumps is on the right and about 8 feet to the left is a sub panel box. Could I install an outlet by tapping into a hot from the timer so it will run on the same cycle and then run the neutral and ground from the sub panel? Wanted to avoid installing an additional time just for the chlorination but was not sure if my thinking was sound.

mccartyls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 02:21 PM   #2
Member
 
PoleCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 1,208
Default

Electrical timer box and sub panel


How about a transformer?

__________________
"Ask me anything. If I don't know the answer I'll make something up."
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
PoleCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 03:51 PM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,078
Default

Electrical timer box and sub panel


All conductors of the circuit need to be in the same cable or conduit. You cannot grab a neutral and ground from another circuit.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
mccartyls (06-04-2013)
Old 06-04-2013, 04:17 PM   #4
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,469
Default

Electrical timer box and sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by mccartyls View Post
For my pool timer, 220 running in on two legs of 3 wire...
Could I...
Could you run the feed into some sort of sub panel (pretend ground rod grandfathered) and then branch off from there with the 120V and 240V circuits needed. ??

Why yes. Yes, you could.
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to TarheelTerp For This Useful Post:
mccartyls (06-04-2013)
Old 06-04-2013, 04:25 PM   #5
Member
 
PoleCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 1,208
Default

Electrical timer box and sub panel


It sounds to me like he wants to run his chlorinator on the same timer as the pump. This makes sense. Couldn't he run a step down transformer off the load side of the timer and run the chlorinator that way?
__________________
"Ask me anything. If I don't know the answer I'll make something up."
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
PoleCat is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to PoleCat For This Useful Post:
mccartyls (06-04-2013)
Old 06-04-2013, 04:34 PM   #6
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,259
Default

Electrical timer box and sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by TarheelTerp View Post
Could you run the feed into some sort of sub panel (pretend ground rod grandfathered) and then branch off from there with the 120V and 240V circuits needed. ??

Why yes. Yes, you could.
What is a ground rod grandfathered?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 04:37 PM   #7
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,469
Default

Electrical timer box and sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
What is a ground rod grandfathered?
your answer is right HERE
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 08:28 PM   #8
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,460
Default

Electrical timer box and sub panel


Is this subpanel feeding the timer? What wiring method? It might be easiest to just feed the timer with a 4-wire circuit, and mount a receptacle beside it.
__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 08:39 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3
Default

Electrical timer box and sub panel


You are right pole cat. I want to run everything off the same timer. I bought a little gray box and installed it figuring I would try to sync the two timers, but it seems the clock in the little gray box is not working. Since I need to take it out anyway to return it, I thought I might be able to rig something off the existing timer and get my 50 bucks back.

Good to know I need to run everything off the same circuit and I do have a sub panel close by that I could put another breaker in but that does not solve the two timer issue..I will research the cost of the step down transformer that might be a good solution.

Thank you all for responding.
mccartyls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 08:22 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3
Default

Electrical timer box and sub panel


The timer is run from the main box in the garage, but funny I had that same thought last night. I could move the breaker from the garage out to the sub panel, buy 10 feet of 4 wire and mount an outlet box to the bottom of the timer. I think we have a winner!

mccartyls is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mccartyls For This Useful Post:
mpoulton (06-05-2013)
Reply

Tags
electrical installation


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.