Electrical Switching Through Relays - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-02-2010, 09:06 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical switching through relays


I have seventeen ligt circuits,which are split up through three single channel time clocks.Time clock one feeds one contactor,time clock two feeds three contactors and time clock three feeds five contactors.My problem is i also have three switch wires which need to turn on certain lights early in the morning if someone turns up before the time clocks kick in.The active to the switches is feed from the same control circuit as the time clocks.What i need though is two of the switches i need to turn on come from t/c 3 and one switch comes from t/c two.If my sw feeds the coils it turns on all the other contactors from the same t/c,as they are all looped.And if i take the feed from the t/c out of the contactor coil that feeds the light and replace it with the s/w, then the lights can only be turnned on by the switch.What i really need is to be able to switch these individual lights on without switching anything else,but also need the t/c to still switch them on if the switch has not been manually turnned on,and also need the t/c to turn them of at the right time if the switch hasnt been turnned of at the end of the day.I know i need relays to do this,but havent been able to draw this up with any success.If any ideas out there or any diagrams.I would like to here or see them.Cheers

Advertisement

johnny k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2010, 09:30 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 272
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Electrical switching through relays


Quote:
The active to the switches is feed from the same control circuit as the time clocks.What i need though is two of the switches i need to turn on come from t/c 3 and one switch comes from t/c two.
I'm confused by you saying the switches are going through the contactors.

Are you saying that the lights that the switches need to turn on are presently going through the contactors?

Install another contactor(s) for the light switch(es) to control, and parallel the lights you want the switch to control through it. That way, either their original t/c contactor or the light switch contactor will turn them on.

For a drawing, please provide more info.

Advertisement

__________________
Willis

Last edited by williswires; 11-03-2010 at 09:52 PM.
williswires is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrical Questions from a Foreigner mark_anderson_u Electrical 4 09-10-2010 07:46 AM
Changing from Electrical Cook Top to Electrical Range EkS Electrical 24 06-22-2010 11:43 AM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 10:33 AM
Slight electrical current in bathroom faucet water + other unusual electrical events story Electrical 9 09-16-2009 11:28 PM
Electrical box replace,addiitions, city permits and looking for an electrician ramchy Electrical 3 08-02-2009 12:12 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts