Electrical Switches - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-06-2012, 07:57 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 75
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Electrical Switches


I did pull the ceiling fan down to double check the wiring. There is a solid wire that comes down and breaks up into three different wires. There is a black, white, and a bare wire. Is there another type of wire that would have to be installed in order for it to be connected to a switch? This is the only wire in the receptacle.

Advertisement

mckain87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 12:33 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical Switches


No, that is the end point. When the fan is attached to a switch you'll run the hot leg through the switch and tie the neutral and ground wires together. You need to find the other end of the wire now
Greg_R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 12:37 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 75
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Electrical Switches


The other end of the wire for the fan correct?
mckain87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 12:38 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical Switches


correct.
Greg_R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 12:38 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 75
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Electrical Switches


I have. It ties into an outlet on another wall in the same room!
mckain87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 01:32 PM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical Switches


Two options:

- Add a switch in-line with the cable as it comes down the wall (may look dumb @ that location).
- Run a new wire in the knee wall and down to the switch. I'd add a 3 gang box + 3rd switch to keep the room up to code (outlet needs to be switched). If you do this make sure you tie off the old cable on both ends with wire nuts.

Advertisement

Greg_R is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tricking out the JEWEL colors on old-fashioned (toggle) electrical light switches watts up? Electrical 5 08-31-2011 09:07 AM
Installing switches for fan and light on one electrical line puhitom Electrical 2 08-26-2011 05:50 AM
added new switches, one of 2 old switches doesn't work anymore MLMIB Electrical 6 06-13-2011 10:10 AM
Electrical Outlet and Light switches HOT MicahDog General DIY Discussions 3 01-10-2010 04:59 PM
Electrical Engineer allowed to do Electrical work? SarahJennifer Electrical 48 09-21-2009 09:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts