Electrical SubMeter Wiring Help - Please. - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-05-2009, 08:48 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Salinas, Calfornia (by monterey/carmel/san Jose
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Send a message via Yahoo to Jasondt2001
Question

Electrical SubMeter Wiring Help - Please.


I would like to run a picture and some ideas off of you guys. I've wired a barn, added a subpanel with breakers and a 50' run at this place and have LOVED doing it. I've read and watched ANYTHING and EVERYTHING I can electrical from books, to bugging my poor electrician to death

Here's the scenario:

2 houses, one a mobile home/trailer. One has direct feed from PGandE and a meter.
There is 1 dual pole 50 amp breaker with neutral and ground running to mobile home as of now. The mobile is powered and doing well.
They would like to submeter the mobile.
From what I've read it seems simple, cut the juice to the 50 amp breakers make sure line is dead, and put meter & housing in between using only the hot wires.

Am I correct?

I've included a 'sketch' of what I want to do... Hopefully this will help someone help me

As you see in the 'panel connections blow up' I'm still trying to see where the input from the master house and the exit to the mobile home will be.

I assume "A" is the input FROM the master house, and "B" is the outgoing to the trailer itself.
Yet - you all know what happens when you assume

- Jason

Obviously, for myself and the people that live there safety is my primary concern. I will kill all power before attempting to install the power meter and double and triple check my work before I put the power back on.

I just need some reassurance that this is the correct way to go about it.
Also, do I need to ground the box, or does the neutral need to go inside the meter box?
Attached Thumbnails
Electrical SubMeter Wiring Help - Please.-panel-connection.jpg  

Advertisement

Jasondt2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 08:50 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Electrical SubMeter Wiring Help - Please.


Call your power company & an electricain.

Advertisement

chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 08:52 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Salinas, Calfornia (by monterey/carmel/san Jose
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Send a message via Yahoo to Jasondt2001
Default

Electrical SubMeter Wiring Help - Please.


umm, did you even read my post? With all due respect sir, I'm ADDING a subpanel and obviously trying to do it with the least possible expense.
I'd love for maybe some more insight or tips, I'd sure appreciate it.
Jasondt2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 08:52 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Salinas, Calfornia (by monterey/carmel/san Jose
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Send a message via Yahoo to Jasondt2001
Default

Electrical SubMeter Wiring Help - Please.


The HOUSE has already a healthy PGE Drop w/ meter and box all good and sound.
Jasondt2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 08:54 PM   #5
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Electrical SubMeter Wiring Help - Please.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasondt2001 View Post
The HOUSE has already a healthy PGE Drop w/ meter and box all good and sound.
So your going to be billing the people renting your trailer? First thing to do is see if sub-metering is even legal in your area, 2nd thing, buy a product thats made for sub-metering.

Last edited by chris75; 01-05-2009 at 08:57 PM.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 08:57 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Salinas, Calfornia (by monterey/carmel/san Jose
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Send a message via Yahoo to Jasondt2001
Default

Electrical SubMeter Wiring Help - Please.


Yes Sir, they will be.
I think I know what you're getting at... I do see a problem with it - I've already explained this to them... It will be ALL of it to the 1 meter PG&E has at THEIR House... they'll have to subtract the difference and bill accordingly.
They are fine with that.
Jasondt2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 08:59 PM   #7
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Electrical SubMeter Wiring Help - Please.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasondt2001 View Post
Yes Sir, they will be.
I think I know what you're getting at... I do see a problem with it - I've already explained this to them... It will be ALL of it to the 1 meter PG&E has at THEIR House... they'll have to subtract the difference and bill accordingly.
They are fine with that.
Where are you living in the trailer or the house? You have me confused.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 09:00 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Salinas, Calfornia (by monterey/carmel/san Jose
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Send a message via Yahoo to Jasondt2001
Default

Electrical SubMeter Wiring Help - Please.


I'm sorry Chris. I'm helping someone who owns the property. They live in the house.
They want to sub meter the trailer for a tenant.
Jasondt2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 09:02 PM   #9
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Electrical SubMeter Wiring Help - Please.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasondt2001 View Post
I'm sorry Chris. I'm helping someone who owns the property. They live in the house.
They want to sub meter the trailer for a tenant.
Yikes... You might find this site interesting... http://www.cslb.ca.gov/Journeymen/Jo...nsequences.asp

Last edited by chris75; 01-05-2009 at 09:04 PM.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 09:04 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Salinas, Calfornia (by monterey/carmel/san Jose
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Send a message via Yahoo to Jasondt2001
Default

Electrical SubMeter Wiring Help - Please.


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
Yikes...
Am I askin for trouble? Is my diagram going to burn their house down?
Jasondt2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 09:08 PM   #11
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Electrical SubMeter Wiring Help - Please.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasondt2001 View Post
Am I askin for trouble? Is my diagram going to burn their house down?

Maybe? How would I know? You dont have a license to perform the work. End of story.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 09:10 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Salinas, Calfornia (by monterey/carmel/san Jose
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Send a message via Yahoo to Jasondt2001
Default

Electrical SubMeter Wiring Help - Please.


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
Maybe? How would I know? You dont have a license to perform the work. End of story.
That sir is why they make great forums such as this, for INFO. You've given me nothing but the run around but I thank you for your time
Jasondt2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 09:16 PM   #13
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Electrical SubMeter Wiring Help - Please.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasondt2001 View Post
That sir is why they make great forums such as this, for INFO. You've given me nothing but the run around but I thank you for your time

If you say so... At least read the link I posted.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 09:22 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Salinas, Calfornia (by monterey/carmel/san Jose
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Send a message via Yahoo to Jasondt2001
Default

Electrical SubMeter Wiring Help - Please.


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
If you say so... At least read the link I posted.
I just read your edit - Thank you for the link.

I think I may have come across wrong, not intentionally of course.
Thanks for the link, I read through it.

I am in NO way acting as a contractor for profit. I've done all the work for him as the guy's my best friend. I've never received any type of payment except maybe for lunch on the day I'm there.
He's NOT being charged for this or any other service I've performed as of late or in the future.
This is honestly a friend trying to help a friend. Nothing more.
Jasondt2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 09:29 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Dayton Ohio Area
Posts: 670
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Electrical SubMeter Wiring Help - Please.


Wow, for a DIY forum this thread took a turn in the wrong direction with some uncalled for posts.

Jason, if they want to bill the "renter" and dont want to have PG&E put in a second meter, there are a number of third party products out there that can keep track of usage "down" the line.

Take a look at: http://www.metersusa.com/Watt-Hour-Meters/index.htm

Advertisement

__________________
-Andrew
DIY hobbiest
AndrewF is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
submeter , wire


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
low-voltage and electrical wiring sharing same stud space jheavner Electrical 21 10-06-2011 12:16 PM
Electrical problem, bad wiring? mumblemouth Electrical 10 08-09-2008 12:52 PM
Electrical wiring running parellel and through ductwork? Beren Electrical 1 06-01-2007 05:08 PM
electrical wiring in bath. pinman52 Electrical 4 05-04-2006 07:01 AM
Electrical wiring jonathanm1978 Electrical 1 02-03-2006 12:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts