Electrical Sub Panel Grounding - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-17-2011, 04:36 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical Sub Panel Grounding


I have an older home with an existing sub panel which is fused being fed by 3-wire. I would like to change it out to a circuit breaker sub panel but would like to know if I am able to run and external gound to the existing main panel, which feeds this. I am not able to ground conductor the in same raceway as the feeds to the sub panel. I would like the answer to be as per code. Thanks!

Advertisement

KellyElaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 04:39 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Electrical Sub Panel Grounding


Is the 3 wires that feed the panel now all insulated, or is one bare?

Advertisement

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 04:41 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical Sub Panel Grounding


It is all insulated.
KellyElaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 04:44 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Electrical Sub Panel Grounding


Is it conduit all the way to the main panel?
If it is, then it should be grounded.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 04:50 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical Sub Panel Grounding


It is 6-wire MC or greefield. I don't think that is enough to be properly grounded. Also, all the circuits inside the panel are BX, no Romex
KellyElaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 05:05 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Electrical Sub Panel Grounding


What are using the other 3 wires for?
Are the wires paralleled?
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 05:10 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical Sub Panel Grounding


Two hots and a neutral. There is 220 volt through the wall heat pump on this sub panel as well as other single phase circuits.
KellyElaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 05:49 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 981
Rewards Points: 504
Default

Electrical Sub Panel Grounding


Raceway, BX, MC, Romex, single-phase circuits...

A lot of terms...

Why can't you use the existing 'raceway'?

Last edited by jlmran; 01-17-2011 at 05:54 PM.
jlmran is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 05:55 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical Sub Panel Grounding


I can not get another wire in the existing raceway. Can I run an external ground to the main panel?
KellyElaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 05:58 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 981
Rewards Points: 504
Default

Electrical Sub Panel Grounding


For clarification, the sub is fed by 6 conductors?
jlmran is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 06:10 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical Sub Panel Grounding


3 conductors - 6 wire - 60 amp fuse sub panel
KellyElaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 06:53 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 981
Rewards Points: 504
Default

Electrical Sub Panel Grounding


I'm lost. I'll stop chatting.
jlmran is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 06:57 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 981
Rewards Points: 504
Default

Electrical Sub Panel Grounding


Oh wait... You mean #6 wire...not 6 wires. Duh.
jlmran is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 06:59 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical Sub Panel Grounding


#6 wire is correct
KellyElaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 07:09 PM   #15
Member
 
iminaquagmire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 370
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Electrical Sub Panel Grounding


I think you mean you have 6-2 MC. This would have a black, a white, and a green ground. If this is the case, you cannot properly change out the panel and still meet code. You need to have another wire there. Now you say you have a neutral which confuses me. If you have 6-3 which is two blacks or a black and a red along with a white and a green ground, then you can change the panel as long as you keep the neutral and ground separate in the sub and don't bond the neutral bar to the panel housing. If you have BX (metallic sheath with bare silver bonding strip) with two phase conductors and a neutral, the armor can act as your ground back to the main panel. If you can run an external ground, you can run a new feed. That's the proper way. You also didn't mention whether this subpanel is in the main structure or a detached one such as a garage. That makes a difference how its wired as well.

Advertisement

iminaquagmire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sub panel wiring & grounding kwcamaro Electrical 1 03-06-2010 08:58 AM
grounding of main panel and sub panel in older house linkysys Electrical 2 10-01-2009 05:34 PM
new Main Panel Grounding lrr81765 Electrical 8 10-09-2008 12:16 PM
advice on installing equipment grounding bar in main panel pacifier1er Electrical 5 05-29-2007 06:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts