Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-27-2008, 08:34 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical storm - outlets not working


We had an electrical storm a couple days ago where the power was out for a little while. When it came back on, 4 of the outlets in our kitchen no longer work. I looked at the box in the basement, and nothing has been tripped. What should be the next step? I don't want to replace the outlets if it's probably something else that's been damaged. Yet, I don't want to call an electrician if it's something really simple that I just overlooked. Thanks.

SG94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2008, 08:56 AM   #2
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Electrical storm - outlets not working


Look for a tripped GFCI somewhere in the kitchen. There is a good chance that the GFCI may also be damaged and need replacing if you received a close proximity lightning strike.

__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2008, 09:02 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical storm - outlets not working


What do you mean "somewhere in the kitchen?" None of the switches were tripped in the electrical box. There are two labeled "kitchen outlets", and I moved them off and back on, but nothing changed. Should I look somewhere else? Thanks again.
SG94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2008, 09:20 AM   #4
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Electrical storm - outlets not working


A GFCI receptacle has two buttons, one labeled "test" and one labeled "reset". There should be two in the kitchen somewhere along the countertop, although if it is an older house, there may only be one and it may be somewhere else in the kitchen. When you find it, try pressing the "reset" button and see if power is restored.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2008, 09:28 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical storm - outlets not working


You ROCK!! Thank you so much. That outlet was covered by a surge protector since I use it to plug in our cordless phone and previously my wireless router. When I removed it, I found the reset switch. (forgot it was there) Thanks again!

Last edited by SG94; 04-27-2008 at 09:31 AM.
SG94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Loose electrical outlets travishume Electrical 30 08-01-2008 07:21 PM
What gloves to wear when working with electrical? twilightcall Electrical 7 01-04-2008 05:34 PM
Electrical outlets and Granite backsplash, how? section8 Remodeling 6 01-08-2007 06:55 AM
Can a diyer install electrical outlets? yummy mummy Building & Construction 12 12-23-2006 06:54 PM
Electrical outlets and Granite backsplash, how? section8 Electrical 10 07-01-2006 08:53 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.