Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-28-2010, 01:08 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Electrical Splices In The Wall


While building a sun room addition on my modular house I discovered some questionable wiring in the wall. When I removed the siding from the existing house so I could wire in the new addition I noticed electrical splices that were covered up. These splices were in boxes. MY QUESTION: Does the code allow splices that are hidden and not accessible? I didn't think so but maybe. If not allowed I could rewire them into a receptacle box I will install, Is it ok to have 2 different circuits running through one box?

fblankinship is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2010, 02:25 AM   #2
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Electrical Splices In The Wall


Quote:
Originally Posted by fblankinship View Post
While building a sun room addition on my modular house I discovered some questionable wiring in the wall. When I removed the siding from the existing house so I could wire in the new addition I noticed electrical splices that were covered up. These splices were in boxes. MY QUESTION: Does the code allow splices that are hidden and not accessible? I didn't think so but maybe. If not allowed I could rewire them into a receptacle box I will install, Is it ok to have 2 different circuits running through one box?
I know some Mobile home and Moduar homes they did use the AMP or TYCO splice kits and it is legit for this purpose but just plain jane wirenuts without juction box then no it is not legit.

{ A side note I am not too crazy with them due I have few failures so end up put a junction box and resplice with proper items }

If you want to mount the junction box then yes you can but do not buried behind the drywall or other means and yes it is fine to run with two diffrent circuits in the junction box keep the netural seprated but the ground { bare or green conductor } can tie together without issue.

Merci.
Marc

frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2010, 08:55 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Talking

Electrical Splices In The Wall


Thanks, I plan on putting receptacles on that wall so will run the splices through them.
fblankinship is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2010, 09:40 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,970
Rewards Points: 2,036
Default

Electrical Splices In The Wall


Two circuits in the same box is okay but ...

... be careful about too many things in the box when you have a receptacle and also a second circuit running through with the splice inside the box.

Two conductor cable coming in spliced to two conductor cable going back out counts 4 points (9 cubic inches for 12 gauge wires).

Connect grounds (for both circuits in this case) together wherever they come together. All the ground wires coming into the box count one point code-wise but if it is hard to stuff everything in the box, you should have a box bigger than what the box fill calculations come up with.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2010, 10:18 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical Splices In The Wall


Thanks, I am planning on putting in a 4x4 deep metal box, that should cover it. I appreciate the input. This site is so helpful I really appreciate all the help.
fblankinship is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basement Concrete Wall Framing Against Stairs Epicsoccer Remodeling 7 01-13-2013 04:11 PM
creating door in possible load bearing wall acerunner Building & Construction 6 07-05-2010 05:33 PM
Running electrical in furred wall stubits Electrical 2 05-06-2010 11:02 PM
Advice on retaining wall replacement (pics inside) eastie Building & Construction 0 04-05-2010 11:32 AM
shim an electrical box in exterior brick wall? sometimes handy Electrical 4 09-07-2009 11:14 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.