Electrical Service Wire - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-21-2012, 08:09 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical Service Wire


I am thinking about upgrading my service panel from 100 amps to 200 amps. How do I tell what amperage my service wire can handle so i can determine if I need to upgrade it?

Thanks
Chris

Advertisement

hullbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 08:46 AM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,000
Rewards Points: 2,798
Default

Electrical Service Wire


Normally the ampacity of the service cable is the same as the main breaker rating. If larger cable is installed there is only increased cost, but no benefit.

Advertisement

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 08:59 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Ava, MO
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Electrical Service Wire


NEC Table 310-16 shows ampacity for copper and aluminum conductors. Here's a link: http://www.houwire.com/products/tech...cle310_16.html

Check the size of your service entry and see where it sits on the table. Don't forget to use the right temperature rating and check local code for things like ground and neutral size requirements (relative to the live conductors).
lynxpilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 09:34 AM   #4
Member
 
PoleCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 1,549
Rewards Points: 780
Default

Electrical Service Wire


Your meter box will most likely need upgraded too.
PoleCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 04:09 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

Electrical Service Wire


If you now have a 100A service EVERYTHING from the connections at the top, down to the meter pan, the meter pan itself, service entrance cable, panel, grounding & bonding, MUST be replaced to upgrade to 200A.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New residential electrical service hounddog Electrical 6 12-05-2011 03:25 PM
Sharing Neutrals on the same phase electro Electrical 30 08-12-2010 03:10 PM
Ran a wire to an electrical panel for my first time Red Squirrel Electrical 17 07-19-2009 11:09 PM
Neutral Wire? 4x15mph Electrical 8 11-24-2008 02:00 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 10:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts