Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-21-2009, 04:22 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 25
Default

electrical service line


Does the elecrical service line, to the main panel in the house, have to be in a conduit? The service line will be running through the attic away from where anyone will have contact with it. The electrician gave me a quote without conduit and he says that it is not necessary.

bmancanfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 04:42 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

electrical service line


Once the "service" line enters the house, it requires overcurrent protection and a disconnecting means.

IF you have an outside disconnect, then the line can run just about anywhere -- through the attic, in a basement, or underneath in a crawl space.

If there is no outside disconnect, then you should not have more than a few feet of line inside of the structure. One exception is your lines installed in a conduit encased in not less than 2" of concrete, creating a core duct.

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 04:53 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 25
Default

electrical service line


There is a main breaker outside the house. So does that mean that the service line to the inside panel does not have to be in a conduit?
bmancanfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 05:57 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,851
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

electrical service line


These rules are different for many areas. As KB said, you can have unfused service entrance cables in the structure anywhere from 0' to 10' or more. Most areas require the main disconnect/panel within 5'-6'.

Some areas require conduit, some don't.
In your case conduit would only be required if it is a local amendment.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 07:07 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

electrical service line


Quote:
There is a main breaker outside the house. So does that mean that the service line to the inside panel does not have to be in a conduit?
In most cases, yes. It is treated no differently than any other circuit in the house.

In some locations there may be local requirements especially for codos/townhouses that share walls/attics.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Underground Electrical Line and water line. Randell Tarin Electrical 11 09-18-2011 08:19 AM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM
Service line tree hugger TcatTexas Electrical 4 07-25-2008 06:30 PM
2 Prong Electrical mjcongleton Electrical 10 04-16-2008 08:59 AM
electrical service to barn bsteven Electrical 1 04-18-2005 08:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.