Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-25-2010, 08:59 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical Service to Guest House


The 3 wire service to the guest house runs through a meter....then a 100 amp disconnect. Through some underground conduit...up the outside wall....into the attic(No conduit).....then into a 100amp panel. It has a 100 amp main breaker. There is a ground rod. My question is this...should the ground and neutral be linked together?

Thanks
CM

cmlewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 09:21 AM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,858
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

Electrical Service to Guest House


How old is the installation?
What wires were run between the buildings?
Where are you located?

Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 12:29 PM   #3
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Electrical Service to Guest House


Quote:
Originally Posted by cmlewis View Post
The 3 wire service to the guest house runs through a meter....then a 100 amp disconnect. Through some underground conduit...up the outside wall....into the attic(No conduit).....then into a 100amp panel. It has a 100 amp main breaker. There is a ground rod. My question is this...should the ground and neutral be linked together?
Some information that will help:
You said there is a ground rod; where is the large ground wire currently connected - in the outdoor 100 amp disconnect?

How many wires run between the outside disconnect and the main panel. Are the wires individual or are they in a sheath?
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Help - House Electrical Issue nottimtaylor Electrical 2 10-19-2010 08:10 AM
200 Amp service really needed for a 830 sq ft house? overkill? alexz Electrical 7 11-16-2009 05:54 PM
Just bought a 1946 house, redoing kitchen, what electrical fixes/upgrades needed? TomServo Electrical 18 09-21-2009 06:48 AM
How Bad Does This Electrical System Look??? (buying a house) Mr_Pat Electrical 33 08-31-2009 08:33 PM
electrical service to barn bsteven Electrical 1 04-18-2005 08:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.