Electrical Range Installation - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-29-2013, 12:10 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Electrical Range Installation



First off, I am new to this forum so I am not sure if this is where I should post this, so please bare with me here.


I have removed an old range that had three wires rather then the new (3) and (4) metal prongs that were attached to the back of my old range. However, my New range has (4) hookups with essentially the same as my original but what appears to be now also a ground wire. My system however in my house is ungrounded.

My question is, would it be OK to utilize my (3) wires that use to be hooked up to my old range to hook up to my new range via the back paneling. Having the White in the Center, the Black to the Black and the last Wire to the other Wire Device & then put then screw the nut in place to ensure the wiring does not get loose?

I also have pictures of this scenario if you can not envision what I am asking and my setup that I am attempting to make vivid via this post.

Feel free to contact me via e-mail @ garym00@live.com

If you know about this topic and have genuine advice and are qualified please contact me, although if you are not familiar with this sort of setup, electrician type installation please refrain from contacting me as I would like to approach this as professional would.

Also if there are different options as well, please let me know which ones are my best. However, I would like to just hook up the three wires to the back of the range as that would be the easiest for me and the Lowe’s guy said I could do that if I wanted but he suggested in the future to get my system rewired so I had either a (3) prong or (4) prong system, rather then the typical wires that I have resembling those that you twist together when installing a ceiling light or fan for example.

Frigidaire 3011 Series 30-in Freestanding 4-Element 4.2 cu ft



Links to pictures:


Pictures of my current hookup that was utilized to hookup my old range and this is what it looks like after disconnected. Appears to be identical to the new (3) or (4) prong setup, just with Metal pieces on the new Plugs rather then old fashion Wiring



#1: http://i43.tinypic.com/9tl2wz.jpg




#2 http://i41.tinypic.com/35hh0t3.jpg



#3 http://i39.tinypic.com/2wf31jk.jpg




#4 http://i39.tinypic.com/aufiwk.jpg

New Range Back of Paneling that needs to be Hookup with old wires


#5 http://i43.tinypic.com/15zltv.jpg


#6 http://i43.tinypic.com/34pm4g4.jpg



Your help would be appreciated.

Gary




Advertisement

electricianadv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 12:31 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Electrical Range Installation


Welcome from Newnan!

The range you are replacing was not a plug in type, but hard wired, correct?

You are going to hear something you will not like.
The wire from the panel will need to be replaced to meet code.
The current wiring did not meet code then, and is not code now.
I know that most of GA was wired the way yours is now.

You need to run an 8/3 with ground or a 6/3 with ground.
Buy a 4 wire range receptacle and a 4 wire power cord.

Advertisement

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 12:35 PM   #3
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,761
Rewards Points: 1,102
Default

Electrical Range Installation


Sorry I can't see the pics because of webfiltering. What type of cable is it? Is it romex or SE cable? Describe the conductors of the cable.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 12:36 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Electrical Range Installation


Quote:
Originally Posted by electures View Post
Sorry I can't see the pics because of webfiltering. What type of cable is it? Is it romex or SE cable? Describe the conductors of the cable.
Romex.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 12:41 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical Range Installation


electricianadv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 12:43 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical Range Installation


electricianadv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 12:45 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical Range Installation


electricianadv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 12:50 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical Range Installation


Thanks for your replies, and since you were unable to envision what I was talking about since the filters blocked your ability to see the picture links, I have uploaded them on here.

Hopefully this will give you a better idea of what I am dealing with. The first pictures are of the range wires and box that were connected to my old range and the last picture is of my new range that I need to hook up to.

The Lowe's guy said temporarly I could put the three wires in the back of the New Range and then use a nut on each wire to keep them pressed back. However, he would suggest getting it rewired to be more safe I suppose. I had never had problems with safety on my old range wire with the current wiring system I have, so I am not sure if this approach would work or not? Being just hooking up the three wires to the new range and bolting them on as you would if you had the (3) Prong?
electricianadv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 12:56 PM   #9
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,546
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Electrical Range Installation


Re-read what JB said (post #2). That wiring is not and has never been the proper wiring for a range. You need to run new wires (8/3 or 6/3) back to the panel.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 01:02 PM   #10
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,976
Rewards Points: 2,222
Default

Electrical Range Installation


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Welcome from Newnan!

The range you are replacing was not a plug in type, but hard wired, correct?

You are going to hear something you will not like.
The wire from the panel will need to be replaced to meet code.
The current wiring did not meet code then, and is not code now.
I know that most of GA was wired the way yours is now.

You need to run an 8/3 with ground or a 6/3 with ground.
Buy a 4 wire range receptacle and a 4 wire power cord.
JB..... I know I'm probably dead wrong or just mixed up.... but I thought since we went to 3 wire w/ground for appliances.... we were not required to upgrade the the feed... and we could just ground the appliance with a jumper to neutral.

Could you clarrify and correct me.
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
MTN REMODEL LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 01:20 PM   #11
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,546
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Electrical Range Installation


Quote:
Originally Posted by MTN REMODEL LLC View Post
JB..... I know I'm probably dead wrong or just mixed up.... but I thought since we went to 3 wire w/ground for appliances.... we were not required to upgrade the the feed... and we could just ground the appliance with a jumper to neutral.

Could you clarrify and correct me.
If I may... connecting to an existing 3 wire range or dryer is permitted IF it is wired correctly. The only correct three wire range or dryer circuit is with three insulated conductors or with SE Type cable which originate at the service panel (where neutral and ground are bonded). Two conductor Romex type cable is not and never has been correct.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to HouseHelper For This Useful Post:
electures (05-29-2013)
Old 05-29-2013, 01:37 PM   #12
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,976
Rewards Points: 2,222
Default

Electrical Range Installation


Quote:
Originally Posted by HouseHelper View Post
If I may... connecting to an existing 3 wire range or dryer is permitted IF it is wired correctly. The only correct three wire range or dryer circuit is with three insulated conductors or with SE Type cable which originate at the service panel (where neutral and ground are bonded). Two conductor Romex type cable is not and never has been correct.

Thank YA.... I understand, and never saw the original wiring, and thought it was an issue of 3 wire verse 4 wire code upgrading.

Best
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
MTN REMODEL LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 01:37 PM   #13
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,572
Rewards Points: 2,040
Default

Electrical Range Installation


Quote:
Originally Posted by MTN REMODEL LLC View Post
JB..... I know I'm probably dead wrong or just mixed up.... but I thought since we went to 3 wire w/ground for appliances.... we were not required to upgrade the the feed... and we could just ground the appliance with a jumper to neutral.

Could you clarrify and correct me.
The problem is that the existing cable is two insulated conductors with a bare ground. The old code allowed the use of three INSULATED conductors: two hots and a NEUTRAL, with the frame bonded to the neutral. This bare grounding conductor was never allowed to be re-purposed as a current-carrying neutral.
__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mpoulton For This Useful Post:
electures (05-29-2013), MTN REMODEL LLC (05-29-2013)
Old 05-29-2013, 06:16 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical Range Installation


Thanks everybody for your advice, it looks like I am going to have to set it up for the proper wiring, as my wires should not be utilized as proposed for properly setting up this system. I probably will contact an electrician out here in GA, but I am hoping to get this job done for a good deal and done correctly.

Any thoughts on how much it would cost to have this installed and have the wiring altered to the two different variations suggested?
electricianadv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 06:24 PM   #15
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,040
Rewards Points: 2,878
Default

Electrical Range Installation


There are too many variables to give an idea on prices.

The wiring will need to be all new, not altered.

Advertisement

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electrical range , electrician advice , hookup range , range , range installation


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ceiling Fan Installation Electrical Question Rafterman414 Electrical 4 01-06-2013 10:25 PM
Range Hood Installation NeetWork HVAC 0 11-08-2012 12:11 AM
Gas leak on new range installation beamerman Appliances 1 10-25-2009 08:40 AM
Electricl Installation for Electric Tankless Water Heater Educator Electrical 13 07-06-2008 11:27 AM
residential electrical installation dallas520 Electrical 1 05-15-2005 09:51 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts