Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-10-2008, 04:14 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Electrical Question - adding a 3 way switch to existing Light


Just added a room to basement ... created an entrance to existing bathroom, and want to add a 3-way switch so can now also opperate the BR light from new entrance. Talked to an electrician and he said that I could simply add/run a 14/3 wire from new switch to existing single pole switch.... Well I've run the wire and am ready to connect but forgot what he had told me to do ... can anyone help ??? (THanks)

Marcus23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2008, 05:57 PM   #2
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Electrical Question - adding a 3 way switch to existing Light


will this help?

DM
Attached Thumbnails
Electrical Question - adding a 3 way switch to existing Light-3way.jpg  

DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2008, 06:11 PM   #3
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Electrical Question - adding a 3 way switch to existing Light


For your use as a reference and understanding of 3 ways.

3 way switch wiring:

White from the source goes directly to the load.

Black from the source goes to the common terminal of one of the 3 way switches.

Black of the load goes to the common terminal of the other 3 way switch.

The travelers get hooked to the remaining terminals.

If you have to use a white as 'hot', it has to feed a switch and be taped black at both ends.


Use 14 gauge wire on a 15 amp circuit, 12 ga on a 20 amp circuit.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2008, 06:15 PM   #4
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Electrical Question - adding a 3 way switch to existing Light


Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcus23 View Post
Just added a room to basement ... created an entrance to existing bathroom, and want to add a 3-way switch so can now also opperate the BR light from new entrance. Talked to an electrician and he said that I could simply add/run a 14/3 wire from new switch to existing single pole switch.... Well I've run the wire and am ready to connect but forgot what he had told me to do ... can anyone help ??? (THanks)
You'll need 2 3-way switches. Can't use the existing single pole switch itself, if you want it to work properly.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2008, 08:14 PM   #5
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,560
Rewards Points: 48
Default

Electrical Question - adding a 3 way switch to existing Light


Remove the two wires from the existing switch. Leave everything else alone. The wires could be both black or black and white. Might even be black and red.
Connect one wire to the common screw of your new threeway switch.
Connect the other one to the black wire to your new switch.
Connect the red and white wires to the remaining two traveler screws of the new switch.

At new switch connect the black to the common screw.
Connect the red and white wires to the remaining two traveler screws of the new switch.

Switch wiring will look like this.


Last edited by joed; 10-10-2008 at 08:17 PM.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2008, 08:52 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Electrical Question - adding a 3 way switch to existing Light


Folks ... Thanks for help and input ... never could fig out how to connect keeping the single pole ... called a neighbor friend late last night and he brought over another 3way ... that did the trick. Thanks again for your help!!

Marcus23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basement Light Switch tabwoods Electrical 3 09-22-2008 08:48 PM
Adding one recessed light to exsisting switch... JayBird Electrical 1 04-03-2008 07:32 PM
add a second light to an existing 3 way switch circuit djohns10 Electrical 6 03-02-2007 07:16 PM
Hot Light Outlets Materials Guru Electrical 5 07-31-2006 07:11 PM
Electrical receptacle replacement question sherlock Electrical 7 05-20-2005 03:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.