Electrical Question - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-24-2011, 10:19 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical question


Hi
I have a duplex receptacle (switch on top outlet on bottom) I am replacing because the outlet (bottom) part of receptacle is not working.
I have replaced it with an identical receptacle and the oulet part is still not working..?? I only have one black wire and one neutral and one ground. CAn this be hooked up to operate light and also have use of outlet? Below is how receptacle is set up silver screw on left with green
ground,and gold srew top right with 2 black screws that are bridged together. I appreciate the help....
. .
.
. .

Advertisement


Last edited by DENIAM72170; 01-24-2011 at 10:21 PM. Reason: dot moved
DENIAM72170 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 10:22 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical question


Quote:
Originally Posted by DENIAM72170 View Post
Hi
I have a duplex receptacle (switch on top outlet on bottom) I am replacing because the outlet (bottom) part of receptacle is not working.
I have replaced it with an identical receptacle and the oulet part is still not working..?? I only have one black wire and one neutral and one ground. CAn this be hooked up to operate light and also have use of outlet? Below is how receptacle is set up silver screw on left with green
ground,and gold srew top right with 2 black screws that are bridged together. I appreciate the help...Both black screws are on right.. The diagram below didn't turn out right when saved
. .
.
. .
Changed black screw location cause it moved on me when it saved

Advertisement

DENIAM72170 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 12:02 AM   #3
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Electrical question


Something is not adding up right on switched duplex receptale you should have three conductors typically black , red , white et green or bare conductor in the junction box.

And be aware that the bare conductor is not a current carry conductor at all they are used for fault issue.

So look again at the junction box and look at other switched duplex how that was hook up.

The white will always go to silver screws while black conductors will go to brass screws however with switched receptale you will see small tab between the two screws break it out { only if you verify that is real switched receptale }

Green screw for bare conductor or green conductor only nothing else on that.

Merci.
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 12:11 AM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

Electrical question


NO, you definitely cannot have a switch and a receptacle in the same box with only a white and black.

I suspect this is a switch loop and the white is not a neutral but is the feed to the switch.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 12:22 AM   #5
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Electrical question


Is this switch go to one of the luminaires ? if so then you have major issue with it as Speedy Pete mention you may have switch loop there.

Merci.
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 09:48 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical question


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
Something is not adding up right on switched duplex receptale you should have three conductors typically black , red , white et green or bare conductor in the junction box.

And be aware that the bare conductor is not a current carry conductor at all they are used for fault issue.

So look again at the junction box and look at other switched duplex how that was hook up.

The white will always go to silver screws while black conductors will go to brass screws however with switched receptale you will see small tab between the two screws break it out { only if you verify that is real switched receptale }

Green screw for bare conductor or green conductor only nothing else on that.

Merci.
Marc
Thats what I'm tryin to find out . someone already had this type of receptacle in there and I was tryin to get it to work.
DENIAM72170 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 09:51 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical question


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
Is this switch go to one of the luminaires ? if so then you have major issue with it as Speedy Pete mention you may have switch loop there.

Merci.
Marc
This switch operates ceiling light. If I put Black wire on gold screw and neutral wire on silver screw the light stays on all the time but still no power to outlet
DENIAM72170 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 09:52 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
NO, you definitely cannot have a switch and a receptacle in the same box with only a white and black.

I suspect this is a switch loop and the white is not a neutral but is the feed to the switch.
How can I check this? It seems to be normal neutral.
DENIAM72170 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 10:15 AM   #9
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,230
Rewards Points: 2,370
Default

Electrical question


I do not think the OP is talking about a switched duplex receptacle, but is talking about a combination device, single pole switch on top, single receptacle on bottom. Regardless, with only a black and white wire, there is no way to have a switch and receptacle working. If the switch will operate the light, then he has a switch loop. He has a hot available but no neutral. Sounds like this has never worked. Some one may have installed this device, realized it was non functional and just left it to use the switch.

Advertisement

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rjniles For This Useful Post:
DENIAM72170 (01-25-2011)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cape Cod Electrical Question jordan83 Electrical 8 01-12-2011 06:59 PM
Canadian Electrical Code Question flemingetq Electrical 4 11-25-2010 10:42 AM
Question about electrical wires outside of new house.. mhp8982 Electrical 8 10-05-2010 08:26 AM
Ontario Canada Electrical Code Question?!? njchan Electrical 4 05-10-2010 09:29 PM
Electrical Box Wiring Question OmahaGirl Electrical 9 02-18-2010 09:03 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts