Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-25-2010, 09:16 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 71
Share |
Default

Electrical Problem


Thats why I came here, My back porch has an Overhead light (That Works) But i have 2 receptals that dont, They did for over 3 years or longer, and Then one day We went to plug someting in and Nothing, I need some Help, what couldit be, something simple I sure Hope, I can rewire plug in's but trouble shoot(Not)
splinter2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2010, 09:18 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Near Philly
Posts: 1,985
Default

Electrical Problem


Do you know if the light and outlets share the same power feed? The outlets may be dead due to a GFI that tripped somewhere; look around for a GFI and hit the reset button.
bob22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2010, 10:03 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 71
Default

Electrical Problem


I think the overhead light and the Outlets are on the same feed, They are not GFI.
splinter2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2010, 10:09 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Near Philly
Posts: 1,985
Default

Electrical Problem


Then there is a connection or cable issue. Shut of the electricity to the light and using a test light for 120 volts check for voltage at the outlets. You may just have a loose connection at one of the outlets that is the cause. If you are unsure how to do this, get an electrician as you can get killed.
bob22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2010, 10:29 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,502
Default

Electrical Problem


Outdoor receptacles MUST be GFCI protected. The light does not. Hint Hint! Are you sure that the receptacles are not GFCI protected? It can be a GFCI breaker or receptacle. If its a receptacle one would feed the other one in most cases. If you do find a GFCI and it will not reset, replace it.
This GFCI receptacle requirement has been in place for as long as I can remember. The only way it would not be GFCI protected is if your house is very very old. Or an idiot installed them.

Ps........The GFCI receptacle could be inside. Check the inside wall where the outside receptacles reside.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2010, 10:55 AM   #6
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,204
Default

Electrical Problem


Look in the garage. I bet there is a tripped GFCI. It is probably behind the pile of stuff that been there since you moved in. Unless this house was built before 1985 there should be GFCI protection for those receptacles somewhere. Might even be in a bathroom that you don't use a lot.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wife tried to fix electrical problem :-\ mikahtx Electrical 14 08-11-2010 01:35 PM
Slight electrical current in bathroom faucet water + other unusual electrical events story Electrical 9 09-16-2009 10:28 PM
Electrical receptacle problem centralhome Electrical 13 12-27-2008 01:45 PM
Electrical "arcing" problem? morden5b Electrical 17 12-17-2008 06:10 PM
Post-Tension Slab Problem Advice/Help Mike McBride Building & Construction 2 01-09-2007 01:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.