Electrical Problem - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-08-2008, 10:32 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Unhappy

Electrical Problem


I have a light in my kitchen that doesn't work. I tested the circuit with an ohms meter and didn't get a reading with the black and red wire but when I touched the black and ground gsi wire I did have electricity do I have a short?

Advertisement


Last edited by KolbTwinstar; 04-08-2008 at 10:45 PM.
KolbTwinstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 09:39 AM   #2
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Electrical Problem


curious, are you in a country other than the US? The black and red wire thing makes me think so.

If so, it would be extremely important to preface your questions with this info.

Advertisement

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 09:50 AM   #3
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,545
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Electrical Problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by KolbTwinstar View Post
I have a light in my kitchen that doesn't work. I tested the circuit with an ohms meter and didn't get a reading with the black and red wire but when I touched the black and ground gsi wire I did have electricity do I have a short?
No short. Burned out bulb maybe?
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 12:27 PM   #4
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Electrical Problem


househelper, notice the 2 colored wires. To me, that suggest 240 voltage and possibly a euro based electrical system.

Along with the the term GSI is unfamiliar to me. I suspect it may be a term used in a euro based electrical system.

So, as such, it would be possible to have power on one leg and get a reading to ground and still not have a light work.

If not the case, OP needs to explain a lot more before anybody can really help. In the US, there should never be a read and a black wire connected to a light in a residential setting.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 01:50 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical Problem


I'm in the USA and yes it is a red and black wire!
KolbTwinstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 01:52 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical Problem


IT's GFI not GSI.
KolbTwinstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 01:54 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical Problem


I put three new bulbs in it.
KolbTwinstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 03:25 PM   #8
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Electrical Problem


well, you have to tell us what you do have then. There should be a white wire along with some colored wire (other than white or green) attached to the light. You should read voltage with a VOLTmeter when checking between the two with the swicth on.

you say you used an ohmmeter. You need a volt meter. If you actually used an ohmmeter and got a reading between the black and the ground of the GFCI recep, it is pretty much meaningless without knowing other info. You should be able to read through an incandescent light bulb so if the light bulb was in, what you read would be normal.

So, be more specific and explain what wires you have to where and if yo uhave a voltmeter and we'll go for a ride and get you fixed up, hopefully.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2008, 11:21 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical Problem


Yes, It is a voltmeter and the electrician used the red wire and the black wire to connect to my light switch the white wires are tied together and the black wires are tied together then a black wire tied to the two black wires is plugged into my light switch along with the red wire. I think they have it setup as a two way switch somehow. I used a light tester in one of the plug ends that don't work and it indicates Hot/Gnd reverse.
KolbTwinstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2008, 11:48 PM   #10
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Electrical Problem


what wires are actually connected to the light?
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2008, 12:16 PM   #11
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,337
Rewards Points: 3,468
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Electrical Problem


You probably should connect to the red and white wires.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2008, 05:18 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Electrical Problem


Quote:
the electrician used the red wire and the black wire to connect to my light switch the white wires are tied together and the black wires are tied together then a black wire tied to the two black wires is plugged into my light switch along with the red wire.
Waht ?
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2008, 11:21 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical Problem


I get power to my light if I connect the black wire and the ground wire!
I get power at the light switch if I connect the black wire and the ground wire. What is going on?
KolbTwinstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2008, 02:37 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Electrical Problem


Put down the tester and slowly walk away.



Put down the bong too.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2008, 10:08 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 70
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Electrical Problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
Put down the tester and slowly walk away.



Put down the bong too.
lol .

Advertisement

nacko is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Self induced electrical problem :( domiflichi General DIY Discussions 7 07-10-2008 09:33 AM
Major electrical problem!? Rexkwondo Electrical 7 02-06-2008 05:13 PM
Mystery Electrical Problem sippin Electrical 14 11-07-2007 11:42 AM
electrical outlet problem ? BEN17 Electrical 1 07-29-2007 07:23 PM
Perplexing electrical problem prglor Electrical 4 05-30-2007 03:20 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts