Electrical Plug/switch Replacement - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-14-2010, 03:26 PM   #1
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10

Electrical plug/switch replacement

I installed a food disposal. I have a GFCI plug which is also wired to another plug on the other end of cabinet. I am trying to replace the GFCI plug with GFCI "and" a switch for the food disposal unit. I can't seem to get it wired correctly. When I turn on the disposal switch it trips the breaker for that line. Help me please--------! Thanks -- Nancy


ShoppingManiac1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 06:53 AM   #2
Licensed electrician
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 10,231
Rewards Points: 616

The disposal cannot be fed from one of the small appliance circuits for the countertops. You need to run a new circuit for the disposal.


Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrical Engineer allowed to do Electrical work? SarahJennifer Electrical 48 09-21-2009 08:15 PM
Slight electrical current in bathroom faucet water + other unusual electrical events story Electrical 9 09-16-2009 10:28 PM
Electrical box replace,addiitions, city permits and looking for an electrician ramchy Electrical 3 08-02-2009 11:12 AM
Electrical Box near Shower Valve dasajame Electrical 3 07-07-2008 06:46 AM
Electrical receptacle replacement question sherlock Electrical 7 05-20-2005 03:33 PM

Top of Page | View New Posts


Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1