Electrical Panel Upgraded... Any Additional Work Needed? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-06-2011, 08:11 AM   #1
Member
 
Thadius856's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Northern California
Posts: 921
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Electrical Panel Upgraded... any additional work needed?


Recently purchased this home. Inspector said that the panel appeared to have been recently upgraded. I just want to be sure that everything is safe and good to go.

I have a Square D box with plain (non-AFCI) breakers. It appears to be 200A service via two 100A breakers attached to a service disconnect. The left side of the panel has a "Smart Meter".

The cable box, gas main and telephone interconnect are all bonded. Neutral and grounds both attach to the same bar, which is in turn connected a grounding rod via (8 awg?) bare wire and zinc bonding clamp.

Can post a picture in the morning if needed.

Does anything stick out as being in need of upgrade?

Advertisement

Thadius856 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 08:14 AM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,904
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Electrical Panel Upgraded... any additional work needed?


Couldn't your "inspector" have checked all this? Isn't that what he is paid for???

Advertisement

Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 08:20 AM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,033
Rewards Points: 2,864
Default

Electrical Panel Upgraded... any additional work needed?


Two 100 amp breakers do not equal 200 amps.

You should not be able to see the ground clamp if the rod were driven below the surface like it should be. The conductor going to the rod should also be larger than #8.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 09:48 AM   #4
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Electrical Panel Upgraded... any additional work needed?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Thadius856 View Post

I have a Square D box with plain (non-AFCI) breakers. It appears to be 200A service via two 100A breakers attached to a service disconnect. The left side of the panel has a "Smart Meter".

Does anything stick out as being in need of upgrade?
That is a 100 amp service
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 12:14 PM   #5
Member
 
Thadius856's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Northern California
Posts: 921
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Electrical Panel Upgraded... any additional work needed?


The home inspector gave a brief looking over to the panel, and said everything looked fine. I just want to be sure, considering he tested every outlet in the house before telling me they weren't grounded. He did point out several structural and plumping issues, which I've fixed. Anyway, I figured a second opinion couldn't hurt.

Guess it's 100 amp service. For a smaller home, is there anything wrong with that, so long as I'm not tripping the main or any individual circuits?

The grounding rod most certainly is not driven below the surface. It's about 6" above ground, as a matter of fact. The wire may very well be larger than 8 awg, but I don't have any crimpers that strip larger than 10 awg so I can't really tell.

Here's some pictures, in case they help at all.

Edit: Full resolution links
http://img825.imageshack.us/img825/3372/photo1yl.jpg
http://img220.imageshack.us/img220/7343/photo2pdo.jpg
Attached Thumbnails
Electrical Panel Upgraded... any additional work needed?-photo-1.jpg   Electrical Panel Upgraded... any additional work needed?-photo-2.jpg  

Last edited by Thadius856; 08-06-2011 at 12:18 PM.
Thadius856 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 05:27 PM   #6
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,761
Rewards Points: 1,102
Default

Electrical Panel Upgraded... any additional work needed?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Thadius856 View Post
The home inspector gave a brief looking over to the panel, and said everything looked fine. I just want to be sure, considering he tested every outlet in the house before telling me they weren't grounded. He did point out several structural and plumping issues, which I've fixed. Anyway, I figured a second opinion couldn't hurt.

Guess it's 100 amp service. For a smaller home, is there anything wrong with that, so long as I'm not tripping the main or any individual circuits?

The grounding rod most certainly is not driven below the surface. It's about 6" above ground, as a matter of fact. The wire may very well be larger than 8 awg, but I don't have any crimpers that strip larger than 10 awg so I can't really tell.

Here's some pictures, in case they help at all.

Edit: Full resolution links
http://img825.imageshack.us/img825/3372/photo1yl.jpg
http://img220.imageshack.us/img220/7343/photo2pdo.jpg
The connector for the ground rod is a concern. First, I don't believe it is listed for direct burial or for use on a ground rod. Second the GEC conductor is not terminated correctly on the connector. Third, the ground rod needs to be driven flush with the finished grade. I'm curious to know how the GEC is connected at the panel. It looks like the GEC is not going to be long enough to reach the ground rod after it is fully driven. Which means it may have to be replaced. Use a #6 bare copper to the rod with the correct listed connectors. Check the GEC to the waterpipe. If it is not #6 copper or aluminum, replace it as well and use the proper and listed connectors. The GEC to the waterpipe can be #8 copper but it will have to be in conduit. Use a kennyclamp where the GEC's enter the panel.


Advertisement

__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maxed out main panel and sub panel - additional 240v needed netcustoms Electrical 4 03-12-2011 12:40 PM
Multiple Panel Question theatretch85 Electrical 5 12-12-2009 06:26 AM
Electrical Panel Knockout Help atw58 Electrical 14 07-24-2009 11:51 AM
Ran a wire to an electrical panel for my first time Red Squirrel Electrical 17 07-19-2009 11:09 PM
Need to change my electrical panel? 2nd opinion needed I_have_questions Electrical 60 01-30-2009 10:38 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts