Electrical Panel "cut-in" Question - Electrical - Page 4 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-02-2008, 08:43 PM   #46
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Electrical Panel "cut-in" question


Ok guys... thanks!

The ground bus does have the green screw that makes contact with the panel... but it still seems separate from the neutral bus because of the plastic standoff.

So... I am finally good to go? Just hook up the power wires at the house panel and crank that baby on?? Cool!

Thanks again everyone.

Advertisement

Todd-sta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 09:03 PM   #47
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Electrical Panel "cut-in" question


Yes, should work good.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 09:06 PM   #48
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Electrical Panel "cut-in" question


Quote:
Originally Posted by InPhase277 View Post
Jamie, I don't want to nit-pick, but I sure would like to see that panel a little more tidy. After all the work you put into it, it would be a shame to let it look like a THHN bomb went off in it. A few well placed zip-ties would make short work of it. Here's a couple of panels I just installed, the one on the left is new all the way back to the service equipment and contains new branch circuits. The one on the right is just a swap out and contains all the old circuits. And before anyone calls me out, the white wire attached to the breaker in the right hand panel did get colored red, but not before I took the pics!

Looks very nice. Top notch work right there
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 10:13 PM   #49
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Electrical Panel "cut-in" question


Quote:
Originally Posted by rgsgww View Post
Looks very nice. Top notch work right there
Thank you sir. I don't play. I quit school because of recess. I broke my radio because it played. I don't watch football, because they play...
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 01:49 AM   #50
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Electrical Panel "cut-in" question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Todd-sta View Post
Ok guys... thanks!

The ground bus does have the green screw that makes contact with the panel... but it still seems separate from the neutral bus because of the plastic standoff.

So... I am finally good to go? Just hook up the power wires at the house panel and crank that baby on?? Cool!

Thanks again everyone.
Sorry about the confusion. I was looking at the photos of the diagrams on your box and got myself confused as to where your bonding point was. I just wasn't positive, so that's why I had mentioned test, Sorry if I caused you any concern.
Now that I look at your photos of your panel, I see what the others here have mentioned, that it is an isolated bar.
I'm sure it's fine, disregard my comment, I applogize for my confusion.

Jamie
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 01:52 AM   #51
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Electrical Panel "cut-in" question


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
No.


That is one of the more stupid things I've heard here. Jaime is a homeowner who is learning electrical. He is trying to be helpful but it really is dumb advice.

Should he test all his breakers too? Megger all the wires?

You can tell by looking at the construction of the panel that the neutral/grond buses are isolated via plastic stand offs from the can. No need to test anything.

You are good to go.

Yes, I did get confused with his panel. When I first posted that comment, I thought he had not made any connections into his main, so I thougt it was a 10 second test.

Thanks for helping to clarify his situation.

Jamie
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 11:29 PM   #52
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Electrical Panel "cut-in" question


The lights are on!! Everything seems to have worked out perfectly!! Thank you all again for your assistance - great bunch of folks here! Have a Merry Christmas.
Todd-sta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 12:07 AM   #53
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Electrical Panel "cut-in" question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Todd-sta View Post
The lights are on!! Everything seems to have worked out perfectly!! Thank you all again for your assistance - great bunch of folks here! Have a Merry Christmas.
Excellent! Thanks for the follow up message to let us know that it all worked out!
Jamie

Advertisement

jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need to change my electrical panel? 2nd opinion needed I_have_questions Electrical 60 01-30-2009 10:38 AM
Water Near Electrical Panel jamiedolan Electrical 7 09-21-2008 11:03 PM
Melted Service Entrance Wire in Panel theatretch85 Electrical 13 08-22-2008 11:37 AM
Electrical receptacle replacement question sherlock Electrical 7 05-20-2005 04:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts