Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-01-2008, 08:54 PM   #31
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 28
Share |
Default

Electrical Panel "cut-in" question


Ok guys... here's what I did.... tell me if this will work and if it's a reasonable and SAFE solution:

If you refer to my original picture of the complete box and then compare it to the new one....

I did the following:
  • I purchased a new bonding lug and screwed it to the top of the left bar.
  • I then moved the incoming #2 Neutral from the right bonding lug and screwed it into the new left-side bonding lug...so that it was on the same side as the neutral romex wires.
  • I completely removed the horizontal bar connector so that the left and right side bars would be separate.
  • I moved the ground cable coming in from my house over to the right side with the other bare ground wires.
  • I fed in a "ground rod" wire into the box (conduit up to the box) and then attached it on the right-side bonding lug at the top of the right side bar. I ran the other side of this "ground wire" down through conduit and out my garage and attached it to a ground rod... along with a second wire that went another 6 feet out from the building and attached to a second ground rod.
  • I screwed the GREEN ground screw on the ground lug into the box all the way till it was tight.
Will this work - BE SAFE - and am I good to go now?? Thanks for reviewing this and giving me your advice.

Here are the pictures of the revised wiring job as described above:
Attached Thumbnails
Electrical Panel "cut-in" question-new-panel.jpg   Electrical Panel "cut-in" question-neutral-feed-closeup.jpg   Electrical Panel "cut-in" question-ground-closeup.jpg   Electrical Panel "cut-in" question-ground-house-closeup.jpg  

Todd-sta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 09:00 PM   #32
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,361
Default

Electrical Panel "cut-in" question


Looks good from here.
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 09:02 PM   #33
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Default

Electrical Panel "cut-in" question


Looks pretty good to me.

What do those wire nuts at the top do? (nothing wrong with them...just wondering.)
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 09:17 PM   #34
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 28
Default

Electrical Panel "cut-in" question


SWEET!!

Thanks KBSparky...

The wire nuts up top are because we goofed up and cut a few [#12 romex] wires too short...so we added a jumper to extend the length so we could reach the various bars.
Todd-sta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 10:44 PM   #35
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Electrical Panel "cut-in" question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Todd-sta View Post
SWEET!!

Thanks KBSparky...

The wire nuts up top are because we goofed up and cut a few [#12 romex] wires too short...so we added a jumper to extend the length so we could reach the various bars.
I would do a continuity check with a meter to ensure that the netural bar is isolated from the ground and the rest of the panel.
Jamie
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 11:00 PM   #36
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Default

Electrical Panel "cut-in" question


Quote:
Originally Posted by jamiedolan View Post
I would do a continuity check with a meter to ensure that the netural bar is isolated from the ground and the rest of the panel.
Jamie
Hah except that it's bonded at his main panel. There you go scaring him for no good reason.

In other words, he needs to pull the ground wires away or disconnect the neutral before doing this check.
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 11:18 PM   #37
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Electrical Panel "cut-in" question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gigs View Post
Hah except that it's bonded at his main panel. There you go scaring him for no good reason.

In other words, he needs to pull the ground wires away or disconnect the neutral before doing this check.
Yes, thanks for pointing that out, if his other panel is his service entrance, then it would be bonded there, and would yeild a false result. All he needs to do to perform this test is to disconnect the ground wire that runs to his house, then the neutral bar should test as being isolated from everything else.

Thanks
Jamie
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 11:26 PM   #38
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Default

Electrical Panel "cut-in" question


Quote:
Originally Posted by jamiedolan View Post
All he needs to do to perform this test is to disconnect the ground wire that runs to his house, then the neutral bar should test as being isolated from everything else.
Well, it's unlikely, but possible that the ground rod could throw off the results too. Usually a ground rod is a pretty high resistance path though, unless the ground is wet and salty.

Also since they are uninsulated, he'll have to be careful not to let anything touch the case.

I think pulling the neutral would be the easier method.
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 11:44 PM   #39
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Electrical Panel "cut-in" question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gigs View Post
Well, it's unlikely, but possible that the ground rod could throw off the results too. Usually a ground rod is a pretty high resistance path though, unless the ground is wet and salty.

Also since they are uninsulated, he'll have to be careful not to let anything touch the case.

I think pulling the neutral would be the easier method.
Yes, I see your point, however with your average meter, I highly highly doubt it is going to show continuity between the 2 due to the ground rods, unless they are touching...

Either way, your right the neutral would be easier to remove, WITH THE POWER OFF.
Jamie
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 06:37 AM   #40
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 28
Default

Electrical Panel "cut-in" question


Ok...

So... I should pull off the "Neutral" #2 wire with the white tape on it going into my large lug on the upper left side of the panel - shown in the picture?

And then... with the power "off" test continuity between the left and right connector bars?

And it should show "NO" continuity? (Continuity would mean they "ARE" connected somehow?)

Then I'm good?

NOTE: We don't have the two power #2 wires of this box connected into the bars at the house yet...will that affect the continuity test??

The panel I show in this thread is my second panel..... attached (well, it's power wires aren't hooked up yet at the house panel) to my house panel.

I don't see how the left and right bars could still be connected.... ??
Todd-sta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 07:07 AM   #41
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Default

Electrical Panel "cut-in" question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Todd-sta View Post
Ok...

So... I should pull off the "Neutral" #2 wire with the white tape on it going into my large lug on the upper left side of the panel - shown in the picture?
Yes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Todd-sta View Post
And then... with the power "off" test continuity between the left and right connector bars?
Yes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Todd-sta View Post
And it should show "NO" continuity? (Continuity would mean they "ARE" connected somehow?)
Yep-You might get very high resistance from the ground rods, if so, disconnect the ground as well.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Todd-sta View Post
NOTE: We don't have the two power #2 wires of this box connected into the bars at the house yet...will that affect the continuity test??
No

Quote:
Originally Posted by Todd-sta View Post
I don't see how the left and right bars could still be connected.... ??
This test is to make sure they are disconnected, so they are 100% safe.

They probably aren't.

I wouldn't need to do it, its a waste of time for me.

Last edited by rgsgww; 12-02-2008 at 08:04 PM.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 12:47 PM   #42
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 28
Default

Electrical Panel "cut-in" question


Thanks!! I'll do it.
Todd-sta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 07:13 PM   #43
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

Electrical Panel "cut-in" question


Quote:
So... I should pull off the "Neutral" #2 wire with the white tape on it going into my large lug on the upper left side of the panel - shown in the picture?
No.


That is one of the more stupid things I've heard here. Jaime is a homeowner who is learning electrical. He is trying to be helpful but it really is dumb advice.

Should he test all his breakers too? Megger all the wires?

You can tell by looking at the construction of the panel that the neutral/grond buses are isolated via plastic stand offs from the can. No need to test anything.

You are good to go.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 07:18 PM   #44
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Default

Electrical Panel "cut-in" question


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
No.


That is one of the more stupid things I've heard here. Jaime is a homeowner who is learning electrical. He is trying to be helpful but it really is dumb advice.

Should he test all his breakers too? Megger all the wires?

You can tell by looking at the construction of the panel that the neutral/grond buses are isolated via plastic stand offs from the can. No need to test anything.

You are good to go.
I wanted to see how far this would go. They were just getting to ground rod resistance...
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 07:35 PM   #45
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

Electrical Panel "cut-in" question


If I took THAt approach I'd never get ANYTHING done .

Hook it up, turn it on and move on to the next one

220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need to change my electrical panel? 2nd opinion needed I_have_questions Electrical 60 01-30-2009 09:38 AM
Water Near Electrical Panel jamiedolan Electrical 7 09-21-2008 10:03 PM
Melted Service Entrance Wire in Panel theatretch85 Electrical 13 08-22-2008 10:37 AM
Electrical receptacle replacement question sherlock Electrical 7 05-20-2005 03:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.