Electrical Panel Bus Bars - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2010, 06:20 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 272
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Electrical Panel Bus Bars


Quote:
Originally Posted by spark plug View Post
... as was stated that there is a Disconnect Switch ahead of the "Panel" it (the Panel) is not considered a MAIN panel and it MAY NOT be Bonded/Grounded
The OP didn't say there was a disconnect switch ahead of the panel. We don't know yet...

Advertisement

__________________
Willis
williswires is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 07:42 PM   #17
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Electrical Panel Bus Bars


Panels sold in Canada apparently have equipment grounding bars pre-installed in them. I took a look at some boxes when I was there over the holidays.

It's no surprise to me that Federal Pioneer boxes have them as well.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 09:41 PM   #18
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,204
Rewards Points: 2,378
Default

Electrical Panel Bus Bars


Quote:
Panels sold in Canada apparently have equipment grounding bars pre-installed in them. I took a look at some boxes when I was there over the holidays
.

I wasn't aware of that but do you think they would have 6 short ones installed in the panel?
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 09:59 PM   #19
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,221
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

Electrical Panel Bus Bars


That's kinda an odd configuration, I'd be curious to see a pic of that. I have a Federal Pioneer Stab-Lok as well but it only has two bars (one for ground and one for neutral). Mine is setup as a "sub panel" though, since I have a main disconnect switch beside it.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 08:41 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 500
Question

Electrical Panel Bus Bars


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Then WHY is Federal PIONEER still used and installed in new construction to this day in Canada???
I thought F Pioneer was not the same thing as our old FPE. That is what my Canadian friends tell me.
Let me put my Two cents in. When I resided (a fancy way of saying, "I Used To Live") in (Montreal, Que.) Canada, Pioneer/Federal was considered a high quality breaker, and it was! But I read a recent piece of info. from Inspectapedia.com; that some lines of the Pioneer Breakers, Not the Panel, as is the case with FPE Breakers and Panels in the USA, were having problems, and are being replaced. The point is that there always was a distinction between Pioneer, Canada and regular FPE products. (Ultimate symbol of Confusion)!
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 08:50 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 500
Question

Electrical Panel Bus Bars


Quote:
Originally Posted by codeone View Post
You need to go back and read Article 200 of the NEC.

The neutral as most people call it is actually a grounded circuit conductor!
It carries current most of the time. And is bonded or grounded intentionally at the service therefore called a grounded conductor.
That --as you say-- was a poor choice of words. What I meant to say was that a SUBPANEL (after a Main Disconnect Switch) may not be BONDED, since it is no longer considered Service Equipment, even though it is the Primary Branch Circuit enclosure.?!
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 09:50 PM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical Panel Bus Bars


Quote:
Originally Posted by codeone View Post
No did not miss the main point. Most people and electricians do not understand what the GROUNDED CONDUCTOR is, They call it a neutral in the industry, however it is almost never neutral, only in multiwire circuits can it be neutral. It is a CURRENT carrying conductor that is bonded to the Ground in the main service. The NEC recognizes it and calls it a Grounded Circuit Conductor. Neutral implies that it does not carry current. If it did not carry current and shorted to the equipment grounding conductor it would not trip a breaker or blow a fuse.
As taken from NEC 2008

2008 NEC—Article 100

Neutral Conductor. The conductor connected to the neutral point of a system that is intended to carry current under normal conditions.

Neutral Point. The common point on a wye-connection in a polyphase system or midpoint on a single-phase, 3-wire system, or midpoint of a single-phase portion of a 3-phase delta system, or a midpoint of a 3-wire, direct current system.

FPN: At the neutral point of the system, the vectorial sum of the nominal voltages from all other phases within the system that utilize the neutral, with respect to the neutral point, is zero potential.

So yes, a neutral is now defined by the NEC!
ElectGangBox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 11:18 PM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical Panel Bus Bars


Here's the photo. I'm a little confused because I've seen this configuration in all my research and the sticker inside the panel front describes the usually configuration of white wires on one side, green(bare) on the other. I had a licensed electrican do some work on it and he didn't say a thing.
Attached Thumbnails
Electrical Panel Bus Bars-p1020084.jpg  

Advertisement

dave_80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bus bar , electrical , grounding , panel , stablok


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old House Rewire finnimus Electrical 15 05-13-2011 11:39 PM
New Electrical Panel Box criehl Electrical 17 05-14-2009 09:05 AM
Need to change my electrical panel? 2nd opinion needed I_have_questions Electrical 60 01-30-2009 10:38 AM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 04:03 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts