Electrical Panel - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-05-2013, 02:12 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Electrical panel


I added a sub panel in my garage. I found that on the main pane,l the bus bar to the box is energized @ 120 v. The neutral bar to the box has no current. Any thought on why I'm getting power between the bus bar and the box or how to best trouble shoot?

thanks
Bill

Advertisement

theintruder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 06:37 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,051
Rewards Points: 504
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Electrical panel


Do you mean the buss where the breakers stab into?
If so, it's because the box is bonded to the neutral (grounded conductor) in the main box.

This way, if the box comes in contact with an ungrounded conductor, it'll trip the breaker.

Therefore, no problemo

Advertisement

wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 11:38 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Cool

Electrical panel


I had that sneaky suspicion after researching it last night. I wasn't 100% certain and was worried something was wired incorrectly or I had a chaffed wire. Thanks for your input, I'm feeling much more comfortable.
theintruder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 01:40 PM   #4
Civil Engineer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Boston
Posts: 4,309
Rewards Points: 2,196
Default

Electrical panel


Are you sure the neutral has no current? I am guessing you mean that you measured the voltage on the neutral and measured zero volts. Under load, the neutral is going to carry the difference in current between the two 120V legs in your panel. Since the legs are rarely exactly in balance, under virtually all circumstances you should measure current on the neutral, although voltage should be close to 0 (the neutral is at ground potential, which by ordinary definition is assumed to be 0 volts).
Daniel Holzman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 05:22 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical panel


Yes Daniel, you are correct in your assumption. When measuring voltage from neutral to the panel, I was getting 0.
theintruder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing an old electrical panel (w/out ground bar) yilmazma Electrical 5 12-13-2012 11:58 AM
Electrical loading question jimcorey Electrical 2 12-08-2012 08:27 AM
breaker panel positioning regulations orobono Electrical 1 10-27-2012 04:25 PM
new sub panel BlueBSH Electrical 11 01-22-2012 09:28 AM
Electrical Panel - Ground Bar/Wiring and Safety cfreak Electrical 31 09-11-2011 09:10 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts