Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-05-2009, 11:48 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical - Outlets with no power


I recently moved several months ago. During the inspection all the electrical outlets worked fine and the GFCIs were working normally and protected the outdoor plugs etc. Yesterday when I went to plug in a shop vac there was no power at the exterior outlet just outside the garage. I checked 2 other outlets in the garage and they also did not have power. None of the 3 outlets checked had a GFCI so it must be on the same line possibly in the house. The garage lights work via switch as well as the garage door opener. How do I trace or track down where the GFCI is locted for the 3 outlets that have no power? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

jogan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 11:53 AM   #2
Newbie Bill
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,056
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Electrical - Outlets with no power


I don't know for sure, but a couple of obvious questions come to mind.

Are all the breakers turned on?

Also go to all the GFCI plugs in (and out if necessary) and press the reset button on all of them. Maybe the garage is hooked into one of those circuits.


Last edited by drtbk4ever; 05-05-2009 at 11:58 AM.
drtbk4ever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 12:24 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical - Outlets with no power


I have switched on and off a couple of times the GFCIs that are noted on the main power board. Can locate none that are outside. Ones that I find inside are on and work fine.
jogan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 12:26 PM   #4
Newbie Bill
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,056
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Electrical - Outlets with no power


OK, we have now exhausted my expertise. We will wait for the true experts to comment.
drtbk4ever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 02:00 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical - Outlets with no power


I went thru the garage making sure I checked all of the walls etc. The previous owner of the house had painted the back wall of the garage with a paining and painted over the GFCI so that it was very hard to see. In addition I had something in front of it. I had to trip and reset several times but it does work and the other outlets work fine. Thanks for your help. I do plan to replace the GFCI so that it is not covered in paint.
jogan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 02:06 PM   #6
Newbie Bill
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,056
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Electrical - Outlets with no power


Good to hear you found the issue. Thanks for posting your results.

Cheers.

drtbk4ever is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power leading to outlets but no power ? s_anthony Electrical 22 01-05-2009 01:08 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM
GFI outlets and power ? CALDWELLAPARTMENTS Electrical 3 07-24-2008 05:32 AM
Power to outlets but not enough? batesrt Electrical 5 02-04-2008 09:12 PM
Problem W/ Power after Switching Outlets... G19-Fanatic Electrical 17 08-28-2006 01:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.