Electrical Outlets In A Closet - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-27-2010, 10:45 AM   #1
Member
 
downrightart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 151
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Electrical Outlets in a closet


I'm converting a closet into a home entertainment/computer area. I'm taking the closet doors off and install shelves. But, before painting, I'm thinking I need electrical outlets in.

I do have wires...actually cable wires for a tv that must have been used at one time. On the other side of the wall is our living room and about 6 inches are so to the left of the cable outlet is an electrical outlet. 'Course this would be to the right if looking from the closet. The walls are 6 inches thick through out the house (which was built in 1997).

My husband won't touch it and I definitely don't think I should! I've replaced a thermostat before while on the phone with an A/C tech that I knew from high school, but I'm thinking this might be way beyond my experience.

My questions are: How easy would this be to do? How much would an electrician cost to do this? What is the average price for this type of job?

Advertisement

downrightart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 11:06 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,955
Rewards Points: 2,306
Default

Electrical Outlets in a closet


Cost issues depend where you are located.
If the receptacle is located inside the same stud bay, this is a very easy job to complete.

Advertisement

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 11:25 AM   #3
Member
 
downrightart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 151
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Electrical Outlets in a closet


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Cost issues depend where you are located.
If the receptacle is located inside the same stud bay, this is a very easy job to complete.
I'm sure it's less expensive in GA. Everything is expensive in FloriDUH! Maybe the Boss (my husband) is right. It might cost me an arm and a leg, but I'd rather that be figuratively speaking and not literally!

It just looks like it would be pretty simple with a hole already there, but whatta I know.

Thank you for responding JB. I appreciate it.
downrightart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 05:08 PM   #4
Member
 
downrightart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 151
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Electrical Outlets in a closet


Ummm...........will one outlet be enough guys? I'm thinking of all the electronics, computer, etc.

I might better hire an electrician. I have no idea about how many volts needed.

No wonder the Boss didn't want to touch my girl cave project!
downrightart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 05:19 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Electrical Outlets in a closet


Volts are easy...120v unless you have something that runs at 240v
I've yet to see a US TV or PC that requires 240v (some are switchable)

Watts & Amps is what you need to be concerned with
Usually you allow 5a for a computer (600w)
My 42" LCD TV uses just over 105watts
Stereo may use 200w
So you might have 950w Max depending upon your devices

You would need to know what else is on the exisitng circuit
You should verify this before an electrician comes in
Determine what lights & other outlets are on the same circuit
What size breaker serves the circuit - 15a (1800w) or 20a (2400w)
Determine if you have an open slot in your breaker panel in case you need to add a circuit
Then at least you will be able to tell the electrician what you have & may possibly want

Getting an electrican around here to install just an outlet can be difficult
Some may charge a Min $100 charge...more if they need to run a circuit
Depending upon the room it may need to be AFCI protected - that's ~$35 right there
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 06:45 PM   #6
Member
 
downrightart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 151
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Electrical Outlets in a closet


Let's hope if you are performing electrical work Dave you aren't in wet gear.

Thanks Dave. I might just ask Lowe's who they recommend to come out. I'm wanting this space in operation soon.

If I do some before and after pics, where do I post them? I can post them in this thread, I suppose, but it's pretty much renovating the extra bedroom----not only the closet. Thanks again Dave.


(one post left to go DM!!!)
downrightart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 06:51 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Electrical Outlets in a closet


You can always add a power strip if you need to plug more items in
Its not how many outlets you need, its how much power
If the closet is small I'd only install one outlet
I have one in a closet where I originally had our router & cable modem
The outlet is no longer used as everything was moved to the basement
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 06:58 PM   #8
Member
 
downrightart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 151
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Electrical Outlets in a closet


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
You can always add a power strip if you need to plug more items in
Its not how many outlets you need, its how much power
If the closet is small I'd only install one outlet
I have one in a closet where I originally had our router & cable modem
The outlet is no longer used as everything was moved to the basement
Yeah, I'm using a power surge now in this room. I'll use it in there.

I'm hoping once the electrician comes in he can easily put in the outlet. I'm with you in thinking this will be easy if the cutout that the cable was put can easily be made to an outlet too. We will see. Like I said, "what do I know?" but I also know the Boss will exaggerate. He thinks this will discourage me, but it only makes me more determined! But, he probably knows this too!
downrightart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 08:47 PM   #9
Military Mom of 4
 
Snav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 974
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Electrical Outlets in a closet


You can forgo a lot of expense (in regard to hiring a pro) and get a power-strip that looks spiffy and can attach permanently to your wall - like Erope or Power Squid.

It's always ill advised to plug expensive electronics into standard outlets unless they are a safety which will shut off/trip on it's own (instead of relying on your fuse to do it) in case of a surge during a storm or something.
__________________
At this present moment in time I am making cabinets for the kitchen - just in case you wanted to know what I'm doing when I'm not around.
Snav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 09:15 PM   #10
Member
 
downrightart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 151
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Electrical Outlets in a closet


Quote:
Originally Posted by Snav View Post
You can forgo a lot of expense (in regard to hiring a pro) and get a power-strip that looks spiffy and can attach permanently to your wall - like Erope or Power Squid.

It's always ill advised to plug expensive electronics into standard outlets unless they are a safety which will shut off/trip on it's own (instead of relying on your fuse to do it) in case of a surge during a storm or something.
Do they make them cordless now? I really don't want to run a line to the closet from across the room.

COOL! (I just googled that! http://images.google.com/images?hl=e...er+sq&gs_rfai= ) Those are cool. I saw one not too long ago and forgot about them. I don't know. That might not be a bad idea to just get the white one and use it. Thanks Snav!
downrightart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 09:34 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Electrical Outlets in a closet


I have our 42" LCD TV plugged into a UPS
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 09:43 PM   #12
Member
 
downrightart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 151
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Electrical Outlets in a closet


In that case, it's time to empty the closet and get it painted. Then it's figuring out what kind of wood to use for the shelves. I think I'm going with a light oak. I actually think I can do this sorta thing myself.



Maybe!
downrightart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 10:48 PM   #13
Military Mom of 4
 
Snav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 974
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Electrical Outlets in a closet


You can do anything you want! Your crafty brain is your orchard!
__________________
At this present moment in time I am making cabinets for the kitchen - just in case you wanted to know what I'm doing when I'm not around.
Snav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 12:42 AM   #14
Member
 
jlhaslip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Canadian Rockies
Posts: 1,280
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Electrical Outlets in a closet


Take the cover off the receptacle in the Living room to see how many wires are in there.
Are there empty holes to add more wires? Might be an easy task to pull another wire if there are no studs in the way, assuming the circuit isn't 'busy' elsewhere. Have you checked what else is on the circuit yet?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bud Cline View Post
Go ahead and apply for a variance, those guys at City Hall can use a good laugh.
jlhaslip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 10:34 AM   #15
Military Mom of 4
 
Snav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 974
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Electrical Outlets in a closet


They DO sell outlets that are self-tripping in the case of an overload and so forth so installing one by branching off the nearby outlet isn't out of the question . . . but they are sensitive . . . so more than a set of two would be smart.

It's not complicated and you can pull it off quite nicely if you want to avoid extensions!

Advertisement

__________________
At this present moment in time I am making cabinets for the kitchen - just in case you wanted to know what I'm doing when I'm not around.
Snav is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to Fix Electrical Outlets That Don't Work limitdiy Electrical 11 08-08-2009 10:44 PM
Electrical - Outlets with no power jogan Electrical 5 05-05-2009 03:06 PM
Loose electrical outlets travishume Electrical 30 08-01-2008 08:21 PM
Electrical storm - outlets not working SG94 Electrical 4 04-27-2008 10:28 AM
Electrical outlets and Granite backsplash, how? section8 Electrical 10 07-01-2006 09:53 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts