Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-07-2012, 07:06 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

electrical outlets & switches


I am replacing a switch that controlls half of a walloutlet & also changing the walloutlet. I did it , Now the switch does not work & the wallout works with out the switch being on.. I am using a single pole switch (lighted) it does not light. The wall switxh has a black & red wire. The wall outlet has a white, black & red wire. I have them all connected. What have I done wrong?
waterloo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 07:08 PM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,216
Default

electrical outlets & switches


You have to break the tab between the terminals on the hot (ONLY) side of the outlet.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with electrical outlets? peasantgirl Electrical 21 10-18-2010 09:35 AM
hide electrical outlets myintuition Electrical 5 08-20-2010 08:28 PM
Electrical Outlets in a closet downrightart Electrical 18 05-25-2010 03:57 PM
Outlets Work - Switches Do Not? Quick Electrical 6 08-13-2008 04:10 PM
Electrical outlets and Granite backsplash, how? section8 Remodeling 6 01-08-2007 06:55 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.