Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-05-2009, 08:38 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 12
Share |
Default

Electrical outlets


I only have two outlets in my garage. Would like to add a couple. is this a job for a weekend diy'fer, or should this be left to an electrician?

mablack1970 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2009, 08:40 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Electrical outlets


Have you done electric work before?
Are you comfortable doing electric work?

Do you just want to add on to the existing outlets?
Or do you want to run a new circuit with new outlets?
Where are you located, as codes do vary?

Are the exiting wire runs in conduit or bare wire?
Are the garage walls finished or open?

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2009, 08:41 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 241
Send a message via AIM to Bocolo
Default

Electrical outlets


That depends on how comfortable you are with doing this and how much knowledge you have about electricity. If is a fairly simple project if you know what you are doing. The hardest part would probably be running the new wires. If you don't know what you are doing then it is probably best to call the electrician.
__________________
One Pound of Knowledge Requires Ten Pounds of Common Sense In Order To Be Useful
Bocolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2009, 09:03 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 12
Default

Electrical outlets


Well, never done any electrical work. Not really comfortable, but I am trying to expand my diy'ing skills. Thought there would be a step-by-step guide to follow.

I guess I could always watch, and learn for future projects, huh.
mablack1970 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2009, 09:18 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 241
Send a message via AIM to Bocolo
Default

Electrical outlets


If you answer some of Dave's questions you may be able to learn how to do this. Even if you don't do it yourself (since you are not comfortable with it) at the very least you can "supervise" the electrician and have questions to ask and make sure the job is done right. Usually when hiring a "professional" if you don't know absolutely nothing about the project you tend to take their word as law and once in a while you will find a "professional" that is not worried about doing the best quality of work. I study up on anything I am hiring a pro to do. Good luck.
__________________
One Pound of Knowledge Requires Ten Pounds of Common Sense In Order To Be Useful
Bocolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2009, 09:49 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Electrical outlets


What one person thinks is easy another may not
In this instance middle of the circuit outlet is your exisitng outlet
Garages require GFCI, so this could be different

Shut off power 1st - verifiy oit is off
You connect a new wire, & then connect to the new outlet
But codes do vary by area on what is required & the specifics of how to wire
Specifics depend upon your situation & existing wiring & codes

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2009, 10:39 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,946
Default

Electrical outlets


It's easier to extend from the last outlet box on the daisy chain as opposed to branch off from a box not at the end.

Having a third cable come out from a box to extend in a different direction may run you into the problem of box fill, having too many different wires inside that box. Box fill should be discussed in any good do-it-yourself guide book.

You can install a GFCI receptacle unit in the first outlet box so as to protect all of the receptacles new and old.

__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bathroom electrical outlets dontom Electrical 2 01-07-2009 08:11 AM
Loose electrical outlets travishume Electrical 30 08-01-2008 07:21 PM
Electrical storm - outlets not working SG94 Electrical 4 04-27-2008 09:28 AM
Can a diyer install electrical outlets? yummy mummy Building & Construction 12 12-23-2006 06:54 PM
Electrical outlets and Granite backsplash, how? section8 Electrical 10 07-01-2006 08:53 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.