Electrical Outlet In My Garage Killed My Garage Door Opener. - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-25-2012, 07:24 PM   #1
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10

Electrical Outlet in my garage killed my garage door opener.

So I used a UEi ECTGFI electrical tester on an outlet in my garage. The lights came on showing "Correct" i.e. the middle and right lights came on.

Then I hit the red button...and all the lights all of a sudden just went out and stayed out. Then checked another outlet in the garage. Everything was correct here. I hit the red button on this one and the "correct" lights stayed on. When I went to leave and close the garage door, it no longer worked.

So I went in with 2 outlets working and a garage door working. Now I only have one outlet working.

I checked the breaker box...nothing was broken. I went ahead and reset everything just to be safe...still nothing is working.

Any thoughts or ideas as to what happened, and what I need to do to fix it?


thorxes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 07:28 PM   #2
Msradell's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Louisville Kentucky
Posts: 2,038
Rewards Points: 2,222

The button you pressed tests the GFCI! You need to find and reset it. The next question is why are to the other outlets in the garage connected to a GFCI?


Msradell is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Msradell For This Useful Post:
mpoulton (02-25-2012)
Old 02-25-2012, 08:03 PM   #3
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 471
Rewards Points: 312

oleguy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to oleguy74 For This Useful Post:
plummen (02-26-2012)
Old 02-25-2012, 08:24 PM   #4
joed's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 11,811
Rewards Points: 10,414
Blog Entries: 11

Agree. You tripped a GFCI somewhere. It could be an outdoor receptacle, in a bathroom, the basement, elsewhere in the garage, even a GFCI breaker.

All the receptacles in your garage should be on GFCI.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 11:03 PM   #5
" Euro " electrician
frenchelectrican's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000

Find a second GFCI receptale and look up at the garage door receptale some case I have see them install up there.

How many circuits you have running in the garage ?? if only one then single GFCI recptale will take care of it.

The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 03:17 AM   #6
retired elect/hvac/plumb
plummen's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,921
Rewards Points: 2,020

Quit pushing that red button on your tester, unless you have lots of free time would be my first suggestion!


"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Garage 220 Outlet For Heater Minus08 Electrical 24 01-09-2012 01:44 PM
Odd voltages at outlet TJF Electrical 12 11-01-2011 09:13 PM
Electrical Outlet Conversion 230/110 mcbuster Electrical 11 07-20-2009 01:03 PM
Subpanel Questions/Running electrical to garage. FlyGuy Electrical 28 05-24-2008 10:50 PM
Adding garage outlet Shane Electrical 1 02-23-2006 04:43 PM

Top of Page | View New Posts


Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1