Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-30-2007, 07:00 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 729
Share |
Default

Electrical outlet hook up.


Hi Guys, I am running a few outlets along a wall in the basement. The bx runs from panel to 1 st outlet, and then bx from that outlet to the other outlet so fourth. My question is which is the propoer way to wire the outlet, I know hot goes to gold and white to silver. But in the box where you have two sets of bx wires, do you pigtail and then connect to the outlet, or do you just connect directly to the outlet, one side one pair, and the other side the other pair? Thanks

helpless handyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 07:27 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,741
Default

Electrical outlet hook up.


Either way. I pigtail, but it works both ways.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 07:43 PM   #3
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,139
Default

Electrical outlet hook up.


That is like qasking what came first the chicken or the egg. There are arguments for both and they are both acceptable to code.

Just don't backstab them, backstabbing is a very evil thing. Take the extra 3 minutes and put the wires under the screw.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 07:48 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,456
Default

Electrical outlet hook up.


No pigtails unless you have more than 2 wires. Wires nut cost money, add another point of failure, take up space and in Canada must be counted in box fill calculations.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 08:18 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 729
Default

Electrical outlet hook up.


Thanks to all, I will then screw them Just wanted to know what was code..
helpless handyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
electrical outlet problem ? BEN17 Electrical 1 07-29-2007 06:23 PM
Adding an electrical outlet box helpless handyman Electrical 14 07-06-2007 07:59 PM
How to replace an Electrical Outlet daverose31 Electrical 6 06-27-2007 12:22 AM
HELP I need to wire a switch to an outlet to hook up my garbage disposal r8drman69 Electrical 8 06-05-2007 10:18 PM
moving an electrical outlet bobo Electrical 4 05-21-2005 12:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.