Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-17-2009, 08:29 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical Outlet Conversion 230/110


I live in an apartment that has just one wall unit A/C which has a regular 15amp ground plug that plugs into a regular 110 volt outlet. The problem is that whenever it gets to be over 100 degrees the circuit breaker pops if I have both the A/C and my tv on, which is powered by on the same outlet. However, near the A/C is an old 230 volt 15 amp dedicated outlet, which was probably for an older A/C some time ago. I would like to use the old dedicated outlet to prevent this. Are there reasonably priced converters to plug the A/C into the dedicated 230v 15a outlet? Does this seem like a realistic solution?

mcbuster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 11:13 PM   #2
Union Electrician
 
goose134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 615
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Electrical Outlet Conversion 230/110


I know it sounds like a drag, but you could get a 220 AC unit. Barring that, you might want to talk to your landlord about getting the outlet changed to a 120 volt circuit. It's a relatively easy thing to do, but I don't know your landlord.

I'm not aware of any converters other than transformers.

goose134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2009, 09:09 AM   #3
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Electrical Outlet Conversion 230/110


Or if you feel safe enough you can go into the panel find out what breaker the 230v is and remove the breaker. Tie the white onto the bus bar along with the other neutrals and get a single pole breaker and tie the black from that wire onto the single pole breaker. Than just change the plug over to a 110v outlet
dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2009, 12:44 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Electrical Outlet Conversion 230/110


Quote:
find out what breaker the 230v is and remove the breaker.
Just move the white wire, change the recep and leave the breaker.


240V = two hot's (probably black and white in a cable)

120v = one hot (black), one neutral (white)

Study the panel and you will understand.

Be careful
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2009, 08:42 PM   #5
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Electrical Outlet Conversion 230/110


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
Just move the white wire, change the recep and leave the breaker.


240V = two hot's (probably black and white in a cable)

120v = one hot (black), one neutral (white)

Study the panel and you will understand.

Be careful


Leave the double pole breaker to control a 120v outlet? Wow you must do some interesting work to say the least
dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2009, 09:15 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,859
Rewards Points: 2,114
Default

Electrical Outlet Conversion 230/110


Quote:
Originally Posted by dSilanskas View Post
Leave the double pole breaker to control a 120v outlet? Wow you must do some interesting work to say the least
Nothing wrong with that. It still leaves the option of later changing back to a 240 circuit.
Being this is an aprtment, I would not touch anything, but let the landlord do it.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"

Last edited by jbfan; 07-18-2009 at 09:19 PM. Reason: spelling
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2009, 09:15 PM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Electrical Outlet Conversion 230/110


Quote:
Originally Posted by dSilanskas View Post
Leave the double pole breaker to control a 120v outlet? ....
Perfectly legal, too!

You don't have to use both poles on a double breaker. Simply use one of `em and leave the other terminal unused. Works just fine on a 120 Volt outlet.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2009, 09:26 PM   #8
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Electrical Outlet Conversion 230/110


*cough cough HACK*
dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2009, 09:28 PM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,859
Rewards Points: 2,114
Default

Electrical Outlet Conversion 230/110


Quote:
Originally Posted by dSilanskas View Post
*cough cough HACK*
Whatever!
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2009, 11:54 PM   #10
Union Electrician
 
goose134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 615
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Electrical Outlet Conversion 230/110


I was going to steer down this road, but remember it is an apartment. OP might not even have access to the panel, let alone permission to start messing around with it. I say leave it up to the landlord.
goose134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2009, 01:44 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Electrical Outlet Conversion 230/110


Quote:
Leave the double pole breaker to control a 120v outlet? Wow you must do some interesting work to say the least
You have issues dude . A bit obsessive/compulsive?

If the breaker is in good shape, you would take it out, install a single pole and a blank?

Yeah....that makes sense.





If the breaker needed replacing I would install a couple new single poles because I refuse to install blanks in dead fronts. The freaking thing are always falling out and getting in my way. It's worth a few extra bucks to put a spare breaker in.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 01:03 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 1,000
Rewards Points: 502
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Electrical Outlet Conversion 230/110


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
If the breaker needed replacing I would install a couple new single poles because I refuse to install blanks in dead fronts. The freaking thing are always falling out and getting in my way. It's worth a few extra bucks to put a spare breaker in.
I hate those blank cover plates! It is certaintly better to install some "spare" breakers in the open spaces and just properly label them as spares.

I see no reason a 2 pole breaker can't be used to feed a 120 volt circuit; so long as its properly wired there would be no issues. A double pole breaker is reaquired in the 2008 NEC on all MWBC (Multi-Wire Branch Circuits). You only need half the breaker to supply the 120 volts, and it will still operate the same as a single pole breaker would.

theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 09:33 AM
OK to put electrical outlet into storage area under stairs? melanie_s Electrical 1 12-29-2007 04:09 PM
Electrical outlet hook up. helpless handyman Electrical 4 07-30-2007 08:18 PM
electrical outlet problem ? BEN17 Electrical 1 07-29-2007 06:23 PM
Adding an electrical outlet box helpless handyman Electrical 14 07-06-2007 07:59 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.