Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-26-2009, 02:17 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Unhappy

electrical outlet


Hello there! Can you tell me how to figure out to determine where the problem is? I had a power strip connected in a room the plug was exposed enough that a paper clip fell and it made conctact so the power went out so I replaced the outlet but when I plugged somenthing else to test it it didn't turn on and I know there is juice because the power went back on, on the other outlets in the room as soon as I connected the black wires. I appreciate it Thanks

DAD1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2009, 02:31 PM   #2
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Rewards Points: 500
Post

electrical outlet


Check the outlets on either side of Rec that is not working.Wire prob broke or stabed in back of rec came loose when paper clip shorted rec out.


Last edited by 300zx; 08-26-2009 at 03:25 PM.
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2009, 03:14 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

electrical outlet


I have the outlet completely exposed I replaced it with a new one and all the wires are now connected exactly the same. and no luck,do you mean I should pull the wires to see if they are loose inside the wall? as I took off the other outlet I got a little tickle (i thought there was no juice at all) THANKS!
DAD1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2009, 03:30 PM   #4
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Rewards Points: 500
Post

electrical outlet


Quote:
I know there is juice because the power went back on, on the other outlets in the room as soon as I connected the black wires.
Check the outlets on both sides of the one that is not working sounds like the neutral wire came loose or disconected.Are the outlets stabed in the back or are they wraped around the screws ?
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2009, 06:26 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

electrical outlet


I did find one other outlet to the right that I know it had juice and now it doesn't. I'll do the same thing open it and check it out. Thanks I'll let you know how it went
DAD1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2009, 07:07 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Talking

electrical outlet


Hey THANKS ALOT!! as it turns out the one to the right did have a cable loose and it is now working! the only one other thing is dat on that one outlet only one end works and it also has a red cable, now, this rec on the side that now works on back it has 2 black wires and a white. on the one that doesn't is red and white. should I just buy another rec and connect the wires the same way? once again thanks
DAD1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2009, 07:44 PM   #7
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Rewards Points: 500
Post

electrical outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by DAD1 View Post
Hey THANKS ALOT!! as it turns out the one to the right did have a cable loose and it is now working! the only one other thing is dat on that one outlet only one end works and it also has a red cable, now, this rec on the side that now works on back it has 2 black wires and a white. on the one that doesn't is red and white. should I just buy another rec and connect the wires the same way? once again thanks
I Really don't understand,But if you put them back on the new rec on the same way you take them off should be fine
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2009, 07:45 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

electrical outlet


Think this is a MWB - multiwire branch circuit ??

Check the little metal tabs on the old outlet near the hot screws
Is it broken off?
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2009, 10:57 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 780
Rewards Points: 500
Default

electrical outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by DAD1 View Post
Hey THANKS ALOT!! as it turns out the one to the right did have a cable loose and it is now working! the only one other thing is dat on that one outlet only one end works and it also has a red cable, now, this rec on the side that now works on back it has 2 black wires and a white. on the one that doesn't is red and white. should I just buy another rec and connect the wires the same way? once again thanks
The other half of the outlet is probably turned on and off by a wall switch.
hayewe farm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2009, 11:07 PM   #10
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,211
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

electrical outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
Think this is a MWB - multiwire branch circuit ??

Check the little metal tabs on the old outlet near the hot screws
Is it broken off?
Yes you'll want to break those tabs especially if it is a split! (ex: a double breaker feeding them). From the top hot to the bottom hot, that is 240 volts, if that tab is not broken that's a nasty short! (someone correct me if I'm wrong on this)

But either way if there are 3 wires (usually the extra one is red) you'll want to put the white on the side with the biggest blade hole (the left) and break the tab on the right side then put the wires on both screws the order here does not matter, it will just control which plug is controlled by a switch (if one is controlling that).

Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 09:33 AM
Electrical Outlet Conversion 230/110 mcbuster Electrical 11 07-20-2009 01:03 PM
OK to put electrical outlet into storage area under stairs? melanie_s Electrical 1 12-29-2007 04:09 PM
Electrical outlet hook up. helpless handyman Electrical 4 07-30-2007 08:18 PM
Adding an electrical outlet box helpless handyman Electrical 14 07-06-2007 07:59 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.