Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-06-2013, 07:18 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 180
Share |
Default

Electrical in laundry shute


The previous owner of my house had part of the basement on fire which burned up the knob and tube wires going up to the bedrooms and bathroom. He had an electrician come in and put 2 1" pvc conduit lines in the laundry Shute which leads up to the 2nd floor bath closet. One ends in the closet to feed the bath lights and plugs. The other one goes clear up to the attic to feed the three bedrooms and hall. He ran 2-12/3 lines for that. Is it ok to have conduit in a laundry Shute that I still use?


Last edited by romex1220; 07-06-2013 at 07:21 PM.
romex1220 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 08:50 PM   #2
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,171
Default

Electrical in laundry shute


The way I understand the it, the conductors/cables have to be "protected from physical damage", which they are in the conduit....so I would say it's fine.

One of the pros will be along to let us both know for sure.

jproffer is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jproffer For This Useful Post:
Kyle_in_rure (07-06-2013), sublime2 (07-06-2013)
Old 07-06-2013, 10:23 PM   #3
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Default

Electrical in laundry shute


There was a post a few weeks back about running power through a laundry chute...I forgot what the "final verdict" was. Like jproffer said, the conduit seems to cover the "physical damage" part. A pro should respond soon.

A fire burned up the old wiring?
Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 10:31 PM   #4
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Electrical in laundry shute


Wouldn't fly in my area.

If your EC would have pulled a permit, you'd know the answer.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 10:38 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 164
Default

Electrical in laundry shute


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Wouldn't fly in my area.

If your EC would have pulled a permit, you'd know the answer.
why would it not pass inspection in your area?
__________________
RIP EJT
usair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 10:42 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 284
Default

Electrical in laundry shute


It was my thread regarding laundry chute as a possibility for my upcoming home rewire. If my inspector is ok with it then I will need to close it off such that it could ever again be used as a chute, run conduit, and seal it for fire block at top and bottom with fire rated caulk. But the point was made that it would e excellent for hvac so I'm not sure I will go that route.
dgfit is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dgfit For This Useful Post:
Kyle_in_rure (07-06-2013)
Old 07-06-2013, 10:55 PM   #7
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Electrical in laundry shute


Quote:
Originally Posted by usair View Post
why would it not pass inspection in your area?
The best I can give you is that a laundry chute is not a chase for wiring. It is specifically designed for one use. The best code I could cite is that PVC needs to be protected from physical damage as well.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 07:44 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 164
Default

Electrical in laundry shute


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
The best I can give you is that a laundry chute is not a chase for wiring. It is specifically designed for one use. The best code I could cite is that PVC needs to be protected from physical damage as well.
How much damage could shirts and towels do to PVC? Some local amendments defy logic.
__________________
RIP EJT
usair is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to usair For This Useful Post:
Kyle_in_rure (07-07-2013)
Old 07-07-2013, 07:47 AM   #9
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,773
Default

Electrical in laundry shute


I agree. Unless you are throwing rocks down there I can't see this as any different than pretty much any other area in a residence.

An inspector claiming physical damage is grasping at straws.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 08:06 AM   #10
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Electrical in laundry shute


I don't fully agree...

If some one would put PVC in a laundry chute, how would they strap it? Generally, it wouldn't be strapped so the PVC is just kind of floating in there.

As for the method itself, I would say it is similar to running up a cold air return.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 08:26 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 284
Default

Electrical in laundry shute


Everything I have understood says you have to completely disable it as a laundry chute which just makes it a metal lines open wall cavity - basically a cold air return. I guess if you could get the liner out then there would be no need for conduit. But it's horrible for fire cuz it gives a straight shot to all floors. I'm going to avoid it for my runs if I can.

dgfit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Basement Bathroom / Laundry Room Electrical Circuit(s) Rookie11 Electrical 5 12-11-2012 08:52 PM
Electrical loading question jimcorey Electrical 2 12-08-2012 07:27 AM
Changing from Electrical Cook Top to Electrical Range EkS Electrical 24 06-22-2010 10:43 AM
Angled Laundry Chute Fox Remodeling 10 06-01-2010 11:09 AM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 09:33 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.