Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-16-2012, 01:12 PM   #1
KRC
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Electrical junction box spacing


Whats the max distance between junction boxes.
Under ground conduit

KRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 01:20 PM   #2
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,666
Default

Electrical junction box spacing


Quote:
Originally Posted by KRC View Post
Whats the max distance between junction boxes.
Under ground conduit
No limit.

__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 01:52 PM   #3
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,019
Default

Electrical junction box spacing


Quote:
Originally Posted by KRC View Post
Whats the max distance between junction boxes.
Under ground conduit
There really is no max or min. distance.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 02:01 PM   #4
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,928
Default

Electrical junction box spacing


just to throw this out, if these conduits are for utility use, you better check with them.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 04:18 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,801
Default

Electrical junction box spacing


Quote:
Originally Posted by KRC View Post
Whats the max distance between junction boxes.
Under ground conduit
WHY would you need "junction boxes" for underground conduit?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 04:44 PM   #6
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,019
Default

Electrical junction box spacing


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
WHY would you need "junction boxes" for underground conduit?
Pull points most likely.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 04:51 PM   #7
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,801
Default

Electrical junction box spacing


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Pull points most likely.
But WHY???
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 06:00 PM   #8
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Default

Electrical junction box spacing


Normally underground runs are fairly straight. Unless your going four or five hundered feet I wouldn't worry about it.
__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 12:40 AM   #9
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Electrical junction box spacing


Quote:
Originally Posted by KRC View Post
Whats the max distance between junction boxes.
Under ground conduit
No limit but only limit is the total of 360 degrees bends 2 - 90's X-whatever 22.5's or 45's or 30's add that up.

Keep the numbers of bend to minuium if possible due it will be easier to pull the conductors.

And be aware of conduit size and numbers of conductors that will affect the whole thing.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 07:17 AM   #10
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,019
Default

Electrical junction box spacing


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
But WHY???
Who knows. My guess is as good as yours. Just figured I would throw that out there and see what odd answer I would get from someone, since the majority of these posts are nothing more than spambots.

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gregzoll For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (09-17-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Attic - Replacing electrical - Positioning, how many boxes, checking understandings darlingm Electrical 12 12-04-2011 11:17 PM
Changing from Electrical Cook Top to Electrical Range EkS Electrical 24 06-22-2010 10:43 AM
How to install new electrical box without attic access gilmores33 Electrical 10 02-14-2010 07:46 PM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 09:33 AM
Electrical junction box - must it be accessable? SKINNY Electrical 13 10-08-2008 06:26 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.