Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-16-2011, 10:34 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 6
Share |
Default

electrical, junction box


Hello, my question is, I'm remodeling my house. How many wires can safely be tied together. Sorry for my lack of terminology. Into my box I ran 1 hot and 3 other runs of wire going to other outlets/ switches. This was too much as it blew the breaker. At this point I seperated all 4 wires. I twisted the wires in sets of 2 and pigtailed them together. It seems to work. Is this code or acceptable, or do I need to do more. Thank you for any response.

homey42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 10:46 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,736
Default

electrical, junction box


Breakers do not care how many wires you have connected.
You had a short that tripped the breaker.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 12:17 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 6
Default

electrical, junction box


I thought 3 wires running off 1 (hot) was too much. By splitting the 4 into 2 groups and pigtailing them together seems to have worked. Thank you
homey42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 12:44 PM   #4
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,663
Default

electrical, junction box


Quote:
Originally Posted by homey42
I thought 3 wires running off 1 (hot) was too much. By splitting the 4 into 2 groups and pigtailing them together seems to have worked. Thank you
The only thing that limits the number of conductors under the wirenut is the installation instructions.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 02:21 PM   #5
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,448
Default

electrical, junction box


4 wires under wire nut is common. More than 4 is not unheard of. The number of wires under a wire not has NO EFFECT on whether a breaker trips . That is entirely determined by how much load you connect to those wires.
If separating the wires stopped the breaker from tripping then you had something wired wrong or the wire was somehow shorted to ground.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 03:11 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 6
Default

electrical, junction box


Thank you for all responses. After I had wire nutted the 4 wires, I was near the open front of the box with a shop vac, it sparked and tripped, I reset the breaker and wiggled the wires, sparked again. It makes sense to me that it was a short. Then after splitting and reconnecting the wires, I took care of the area that shorted. I believe you all helped me with my answer.
homey42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 03:26 PM   #7
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,992
Default

electrical, junction box


A short is not when they spark. When you play with them, and they short, that means that you have a open, and the arcing is also burning the edge of the wire, which in turns causes other problems, due to the voltage spike. If you do not have a good connection, then yes you are going to have sparking from it.

Just to let you know, a Short causes breakers & fuses to trip, and happens when you connect opposite ends (ie white & black, or Black & ground) directly together, without any device between them. In other words, you wire nut the two leads of opposite colors, you have caused a short, and the breaker will not reset to allow operation.

gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gregzoll For This Useful Post:
homey42 (08-16-2011)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing ceiling fixture with a metal junction box Romanuke Electrical 12 03-20-2011 02:37 PM
Changing from Electrical Cook Top to Electrical Range EkS Electrical 24 06-22-2010 10:43 AM
How to install new electrical box without attic access gilmores33 Electrical 10 02-14-2010 07:46 PM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 09:33 AM
Electrical junction box - must it be accessable? SKINNY Electrical 13 10-08-2008 06:26 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.