Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-02-2011, 08:45 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 7
Share |
Default

Electrical Inspection Question


CAN ANYONE answer my question????? I have built a cabin in Northern Ontario Canada, 20x20, it is in an un-organized township and required no building permits or inspections for the structure (I asked and confermed this). I have read some literature about electrical inspections saying that before you can be hooked up the the service ( or the grid), you have to have an electrical inspection. Makes sense to me, however if I am not going to hook up to the grid, do I need an inspection???

Redsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2011, 09:05 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Default

Electrical Inspection Question


Welcome to the forum!

If you have no inspection requirements, no occupancy permit requiremnt, and have not service from a power company - then sounds like you have no inspection requirements whatsoever.

If you are installing this yourself and have any question you may want to have a professional electrician double check your work as a safety precausion.

__________________
____________
Vince
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to vsheetz For This Useful Post:
Redsy (09-02-2011)
Old 09-02-2011, 09:30 AM   #3
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,734
Default

Electrical Inspection Question


Redsy, you may want to drop a email to Mike Holmes Make it Right. They should be able to give you insight on what to do. They have a contact us link at http://mikeholmesinspections.com/contact-us/
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2011, 09:32 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 7
Default

Electrical Inspection Question


Thanks for the link. I'm sure I know what Mike Holmes would say, point taken
Redsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2011, 09:34 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 2,858
Default

Electrical Inspection Question


Why don't you simply check with your local electric utility? They will know what is required.
md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2011, 01:19 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 24
Default

Electrical Inspection Question


In Ontario (regardless of municipality or utility) you would need an inspection from ESA (http://esasafe.com) IF you are connecting to the grid. Your utility would likely be HydroOne if you are connecting to the grid. If you are totally off-grid, no inspection would be required by ESA. However, you should check with your insurance company, they may have particular requirements for your situation.
CuHead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2011, 01:33 PM   #7
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,734
Default

Electrical Inspection Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Redsy View Post
Thanks for the link. I'm sure I know what Mike Holmes would say, point taken
They would tell you, that regardless if you are or are not on the grid, the electric, plumbing, and any mechanicals, even structure should still be built in a way, that life or property is not at risk. That means for electric, even if you are running off of genset, Solar, or wind turbine, etc, make sure that the electric is up to code.

People still get shocked and killed from electric in "off the grid" homes.

Last edited by gregzoll; 09-02-2011 at 03:12 PM.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2011, 02:55 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 7
Default

Electrical Inspection Question


Thanks to all, I have called around and everyone says I need one. If I just covered it up, I'm sure I would get away with it should nothing go wrong. But for insurace and selling purposes I am going to wire it myself and have it inspected to the panel, then just provide power to the panel by my own means. Have a good one.

Redsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrical Inspection Question tpagel Electrical 5 06-13-2011 08:12 AM
First time home buyer with question about results of home inspection. autumnredstorm Off Topic 3 09-18-2010 09:47 AM
Old Electrical Box Insurance Question bailey35 Electrical 4 06-29-2010 01:58 PM
Electrical Panel "cut-in" question Todd-sta Electrical 52 12-03-2008 11:07 PM
Electrical size conduit question pauls Electrical 12 12-03-2008 09:22 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.