Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-12-2011, 08:23 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Connecticut, US
Posts: 253
Share |
Default

Electrical Inspection Question


Kitchen renovation project: I finally have the receptacle wiring run to almost all the boxes. Should finish today. Right now, I just have about 12" of the sheathed cable sticking out of the boxes. What do I need to do in order to call in the inspector for rough wiring inspection? Do I need to cut the sheath and expose the wires? I know I don't need the final devices present. Basically, what will the inspector be looking for? Will he trace every circuit and "approve" wiring for each, or is this first inspection for "technique", to approve general wiring appearance and pathway? Thanks in advance for all replies.

tpagel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 08:45 AM   #2
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,889
Default

Electrical Inspection Question


Cut the sheath back to leave 1/4 to 1/2 " in the box, make up the grounds, leave about 6 - 8 " of wire coiled up in the box.

Make sure box is grounded (if metal box), any internal clamps are secured. He will be looking at the way the cables are routed and secured.

Since this is a kitchen he will be looking for 2 20 amp (#12 wire) circuits for the counter tops.

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 08:54 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Connecticut, US
Posts: 253
Default

Electrical Inspection Question


Right now I have all the functions of the wiring written in marker on all the sheaths. I suppose to keep everything straight, I need to label all the wires individually. The inspector doesn't require that though, right?
tpagel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 09:03 AM   #4
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

Electrical Inspection Question


Typically the sheathing is removed, joints made up as needed, especially the grounds, jumpers for feeds to switches, etc. Our inspectors want to see the grounds made up and necessary metal bonded. Basically, have it set to the point that you could install the final devices now if you wanted too.

If your wiring is installed where it looks nice and clean…properly supported and stapled, etc., most of the time an inspector isn’t going to ‘trace’ the wiring runs. He might ask you a few questions about it, but if it looks pretty, you’ve done one of the most important task…made a good first impression.

FWIW…everybody does it different, but what I do for the 2 GFI receptacle circuits is 1) write ‘GFI 1’ or ‘GFI 2’ inside the box they’re going in & 2) strip the black and white of the line side that’s going to hook to the GFI’s (as if I was going to actually hook it up). Later when you go to actually install the recepts you’ll know line from load. You can label the wires if you want to, but it’s not required too.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to SD515 For This Useful Post:
vsheetz (06-12-2011)
Old 06-12-2011, 11:15 AM   #5
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,889
Default

Electrical Inspection Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by tpagel View Post
Right now I have all the functions of the wiring written in marker on all the sheaths. I suppose to keep everything straight, I need to label all the wires individually. The inspector doesn't require that though, right?
Make up all the connections so that the only wire ends are those that will connect to a device. At a receptacle location, I like to pig tail the in/out wires so that all I have the connection to the device to deal with. As SD515 mentioned, you do need to mark the line side connections for a GFCI receptacle, a dab with a magic marker will do it.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 08:12 AM   #6
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,562
Default

Electrical Inspection Question


I require all splices be made up. No devices.

electures is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First time home buyer with question about results of home inspection. autumnredstorm Off Topic 3 09-18-2010 09:47 AM
Old Electrical Box Insurance Question bailey35 Electrical 4 06-29-2010 01:58 PM
Electrical Panel "cut-in" question Todd-sta Electrical 52 12-03-2008 11:07 PM
Electrical size conduit question pauls Electrical 12 12-03-2008 09:22 PM
How is electrical inspector doing the inspection... KUIPORNG Electrical 2 08-15-2006 08:46 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.