Electrical Inspection - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-09-2010, 12:30 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical Inspection


We are renovating and at point where we are wiring for all our kitchen appliances (fridge, gas oven, wall oven & dishwasher) . Is it true that if run lines for all these appliances then we have to purchase ALL the appliances in order to pass Electrical inspection? Because we don't have the money right now buy all the appliances and we can't move back in until we pass electric inspection....If this is true is there any way we can move in without buying ALL the appliances first?

thanks!

-Mike

Advertisement

mike6679 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 12:57 AM   #2
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Electrical Inspection


I know of no area that requires any appliances be in place to pass an electrical inspection. I do no know what your area requires but if you have questions, you should be contacting the inspector or the building department in you area.


Now, to get a certificate of occupancy, which is what is usually required to actually move into a building, you will have had to pass all inspections, electrical, building, health, and any others your area may have.

There may be something in there that requires you to have a heat source in place or functional water supply but as to dishwasher, oven, gas oven, or fridge, I can't see it because I know of no place that even requires any of those in a house let alone not permit you to occupy the house without them.

Advertisement

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 01:10 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Electrical Inspection


During my recent major remodel I did not have the appliences in place during the final electrical inspection. Occupancy final inspection required certain things to be installed, such as smoke alarms. Suggest to talk to your building inspector to ensure what is and is not needed to be in place.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 07:48 AM   #4
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Electrical Inspection


Fixed appliances need to be installed. Smoke detectors need to be installed. Others do not. Like the microwave and refrigerator. These departments are somewhat lax and most likely will understand and allow you to slide. Except for the smoke detectors.
Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 11:24 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Homestead,Pa
Posts: 109
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Electrical Inspection


I don't see them requiring all appliances be in place. Smoke/heat and Co detectors, yes. If they required appliances every builder would have to furnish all these while building the house.
Paelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 11:35 AM   #6
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Electrical Inspection


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Mariani View Post
Fixed appliances need to be installed. Smoke detectors need to be installed. Others do not. Like the microwave and refrigerator. These departments are somewhat lax and most likely will understand and allow you to slide. Except for the smoke detectors.
I can't say I have had the same experience as you Bob.

a smoke detector system is not what I would define as an appliance but it obviously needs to be in place before occupancy anyway. Unless an appliance is required to be in a home, I see no reason any appliance must be in place to pass an inspection. That would suggest that if you replace any built in appliance, you must obtain a permit and have it inspected. I don't believe that is typical.

there are often times wiring or plumbing is built for future use. As such, it would be ridiculous to fail a building for not having whatever appliance the system was for in place. So, that is why I fall back to the "if it is not required to have such in a house, it will not be required to be in place to obtain a certificate of occupancy" statement. and that has been my experience as well.

obviously any system in place for future use must be terminated in a manner that is safe and acceptable (closed up) if the appliance is not in place.

Advertisement

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrical box replace,addiitions, city permits and looking for an electrician ramchy Electrical 3 08-02-2009 12:12 PM
Rough electrical inspection - passed today! THANKS!!! vsheetz Electrical 4 02-06-2009 11:42 PM
Electrical issues with home inspection toolmaan Electrical 20 08-10-2007 06:52 PM
How is electrical inspector doing the inspection... KUIPORNG Electrical 2 08-15-2006 09:46 PM
Yay! Passed my electrical inspection today! MikeinBurien Electrical 2 12-17-2005 03:32 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts