Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-23-2010, 01:37 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: MI's Western UP
Posts: 599
Share |
Default

electrical hookup for a garbage disposal


It didn't come with a plug, and I didn't install the box for on yet.

any reason to not just hook it up direct?

forresth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 02:11 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,736
Default

electrical hookup for a garbage disposal


Quote:
Originally Posted by forresth View Post
It didn't come with a plug, and I didn't install the box for on yet.

any reason to not just hook it up direct?
None.
Make sure you use a clamp where the wires going the dishwasher.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 02:29 PM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,798
Default

electrical hookup for a garbage disposal


I NEVER hard wire residential disposals. I always put a 3' appliance cord on and a single receptacle under the sink to facilitate removal/service.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 02:35 PM   #4
Experienced
 
Jackofall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern Michigan
Posts: 2,822
Default

electrical hookup for a garbage disposal


X2 with Speedy
__________________
When its all said and done there is usually more said than done
Jackofall1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 02:45 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: MI's Western UP
Posts: 599
Default

electrical hookup for a garbage disposal


If the only reason is for service or replacement;

I cant say I've ever had to service a disposal apart from spinning it with the allen wrench maybe once every 2 years. I guess my parent's contractor grade unit went out after 25 years, and I went a little higher grade than that. seams like I'd have to replace it 4 times before I'd wish I had put in a plug the first time. I don't think the house will last that long. its looking a bit shaky in areas after the first 90 years.
forresth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 03:11 PM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,798
Default

electrical hookup for a garbage disposal


It's not just the unit. It makes it MUCH easier to remove in case you have to work under the sink or replace a faucet, etc.
Why do you think most of them have quick release mounting rings?
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 04:36 PM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,736
Default

electrical hookup for a garbage disposal


DOH! I saw disposal and wired a dishwasher!

I have seen both, but it is much batter wire cord and plug.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 05:16 PM   #8
Journeyman Wireman
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Portland, OR USA
Posts: 188
Default

electrical hookup for a garbage disposal


If you choose to direct wire your disposal, you will need to add a breaker lock at the panel for the disposal. This allows a service tech to lock out the disposal when servicing in it. This is actually the code for all direct wired appliances (ovens, dishwasher, etc).
Jupe Blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 08:11 PM   #9
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,798
Default

electrical hookup for a garbage disposal


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jupe Blue View Post
If you choose to direct wire your disposal, you will need to add a breaker lock at the panel for the disposal.
Although, if the switch is a single-pole, is rated for the load being switched and is indicating (labeled off/on), that is acceptable as a means of disconnect a well.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 09:34 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: MI's Western UP
Posts: 599
Default

electrical hookup for a garbage disposal


Thanks for all the advice guys.

I'm not 100% decided yet. My main worry when I was first thinking about it was vibes and solid wire not mixing, but I guess that isn't much of a concern.

looks like I will be routing the bulk of the drain maze behind the disposal, so that is making me learn toward the plug.

1 more quick question; am I correct in thinking that you do not put a disposal on a GFCI protected line?
I believe I read somewhere that there was a code exemption for disposals and washers on the GFCI requirements around water because the plugs are hidden away and electric motor loads tend to falsely trip them.
forresth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 09:57 PM   #11
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,736
Default

electrical hookup for a garbage disposal


Not required to be gfci protect.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
forresth (12-24-2010)
Old 12-28-2010, 12:48 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 63
Default

electrical hookup for a garbage disposal


New Code here in Philadelphia, now we install a switched recp. under sink for disposer and a recp. for the dishwasher. you can split the recp. top switched bottom hot all the time for the 2 appliances. Now you will need cord sets to plug in.

Last edited by jerzeedivr; 12-28-2010 at 12:50 PM.
jerzeedivr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 02:20 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: MI's Western UP
Posts: 599
Default

electrical hookup for a garbage disposal


Quote:
Originally Posted by jerzeedivr View Post
New Code here in Philadelphia, now we install a switched recp. under sink for disposer and a recp. for the dishwasher. you can split the recp. top switched bottom hot all the time for the 2 appliances. Now you will need cord sets to plug in.
thats what I did (splitting the outlet) at my last house. all the extra wires and connections sure fill up a single box pretty quick, especially with 12 gauge. I'm sure we'll see a code against that soon enough.

in this house, I put the dishwasher in a decent distance from the disposal.
I added the disposal because I had to redo the drain.

I ended up finding a cord that would work (old microwave cord I saved for some reason) and installed the plug.

I guess the main thing was how much it galled me to have a "high-end" disposal not come with a cord, and then have HD try to sell me one for $12 or whatever it is.


I certainly would not have bothered removing a cord to direct wire it.

Last edited by forresth; 12-28-2010 at 02:23 PM.
forresth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 04:29 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 63
Default

electrical hookup for a garbage disposal


there is a code for box fill, sounds like your box was too small.
jerzeedivr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 06:24 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: MI's Western UP
Posts: 599
Default

electrical hookup for a garbage disposal


Quote:
Originally Posted by jerzeedivr View Post
there is a code for box fill, sounds like your box was too small.
it was a standard box. It probably just seamed fuller bending all of those wires to shove it in. either way, I'd use 2 separate boxes or 14 gage next time.

forresth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Garbage disposal draining slowly. yoeye82 Plumbing 1 12-10-2010 03:40 PM
Water leaking from under disposal/Installing new disposal quadari Plumbing 6 06-29-2010 11:39 AM
Object in Garbage Disposal coolptnr Plumbing 3 05-18-2010 02:02 PM
Old garbage disposal question please help. linuxguy0481 Kitchen & Bath Remodeling 3 07-26-2009 10:03 PM
slow draining garbage disposal lchiu7 Plumbing 3 04-05-2009 03:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.