Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-27-2013, 09:21 PM   #16
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Electrical help.


Quote:
Originally Posted by bobelectric View Post
I don't get why a switch controling a closet light would also control a bedroom receptacle.
Maybe someone added the closet light and just came off the closest switch

Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 09:58 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical help.


I will be working on it tomorrow, I will take and post pictures then. Should the outlet in the room be a standard 15-amp outlet rather than a GFCI? I have a feeling the previous owner did not know what he was doing, and could have put that in by mistake.
tomdellaquila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 12:53 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Brian58Fraga's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical help.


Step #1 disconnect all wires at GFCI

Step#2 disconnect all wires at light switch

Step#3 disconnect all wires at switched receptacle

Step#4 separate all wires (so not touching) turn power on test wires (black to white)to find "hot" tag both hot and neutral wire feed then turn power off. If feed wire is at your GFCI then hook up both black wires under line hot screw and both white wires under line neutral screw if you don't want your light and plug GFCI protected.

Step#5 repeat step 4 at switch box if power went to GFCI first, if you want your switched receptacle to be hot perminantly hot then tie your black wire with the hot/ feed black wire not the switch leg!
Brian58Fraga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 01:31 PM   #19
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Electrical help.


IMHO. They added the gfi so they would have 3 prong...
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 02:37 PM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical help.


Here are pictures of the switch and outlet.
Attached Thumbnails
Electrical help.-switch.jpg   Electrical help.-outlet.jpg  
tomdellaquila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 06:29 PM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical help.


I opened up a switch and outlet in another room to compare, wired everything identically, and the switch, the closet light, the outlet, and the outdoor outlet work perfectly. Thank you everyone for your help!

tomdellaquila is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to tomdellaquila For This Useful Post:
Philly Master (05-28-2013), sirsparksalot (05-29-2013)
Reply

Tags
electrical, light switches, outlets, residential, wiring


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Proper way to ground a subpanel chieftaing Electrical 25 04-03-2011 10:22 AM
Electrical Questions from a Foreigner mark_anderson_u Electrical 4 09-10-2010 06:46 AM
For stacked dryer/washer - where to locate electrical outlets and water supply lines Cliffhanger Electrical 3 09-05-2010 09:48 AM
Electrical Panel Upgrade & Main Water Shut Off DIYerIT Electrical 2 09-02-2010 02:42 PM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 09:33 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.