Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-27-2013, 01:38 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 7
Share |
Default

Electrical help.


I am having trouble with the wiring in my house. I have a light switch in my room that use to control a light in the closet, and an outlet in the room. Additionally, I have a backyard outlet that all use to work. My light switch broke, and my neighbor tried to change it for me. This only made things worse, as nothing is working now. In the light switch in the room, there are three sets of wires. One red, black, and white set, one white and black coming from the closet light, and one white and black set. In the outlet in the room, there is one red, black, and white set, and one white and black set. This outlet is like one you would find in a bathroom or a kitchen, it has a reset and test button on it. Outside, the backyard outlet has a white and black wire. Any help to get all three working again would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

tomdellaquila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 04:04 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,316
Default

Electrical help.


What are the wires coming from the GFCI in the room?


Can a GFCI be split-wired?

__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 05:13 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 7
Default

Electrical help.


Not sure of the original configuration. My neighbor took that apart without noting the original wiring.
tomdellaquila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 05:34 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Default

Electrical help.


Quote:
Originally Posted by tomdellaquila View Post
I am having trouble with the wiring in my house. I have a light switch in my room that use to control a light in the closet, and an outlet in the room. Additionally, I have a backyard outlet that all use to work. My light switch broke, and my neighbor tried to change it for me. This only made things worse, as nothing is working now. In the light switch in the room, there are three sets of wires. One red, black, and white set, one white and black coming from the closet light, and one white and black set. In the outlet in the room, there is one red, black, and white set, and one white and black set. This outlet is like one you would find in a bathroom or a kitchen, it has a reset and test button on it. Outside, the backyard outlet has a white and black wire. Any help to get all three working again would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
Is there a Ground wire( bare copper ) that is as big as the red or black or white wire in the oulet box ??
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 07:26 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 7
Default

Electrical help.


There is no ground in the outlet box. The electrical is original to the house, it was built in the late 50s.
tomdellaquila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 08:01 PM   #6
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Default

Electrical help.


If all was working before the switch was replaced, I would suspect something is wired wrong there.
First, have you checked the breaker/fuse to make sure it's on/good?
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 08:24 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 7
Default

Electrical help.


Yes, everything is ok there.
tomdellaquila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 08:32 PM   #8
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Default

Electrical help.


Can you post a pic of switch? Should have all whites twisted together and tucked into the back of the box, the black from closet light and red for receptacle twisted together and pigtailed to a switch terminal, the rest of blacks twisted together and pigtail to the other terminal of switch.
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 08:42 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,316
Default

Electrical help.


I really don't think you can switch half of a GFCI (which is the one with the TEST and RESET buttons).

Please post pics.
__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 08:59 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,216
Default

Electrical help.


Tie grounds together,put in box.Tie whites together, put in box. Tie reds together,put in box.Tie blacks together with tail for switch. Black for closet light goes to other terminal on switch.

Last edited by bobelectric; 05-27-2013 at 09:05 PM.
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 09:00 PM   #11
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Default

Electrical help.


Quote:
Originally Posted by sirsparksalot View Post
I really don't think you can switch half of a GFCI (which is the one with the TEST and RESET buttons).

Please post pics.
Correct, you can not half switch a GFCI receptacle, missed that, maybe the whole thing is switched?
Need pic of switch and GFCI wiring, please
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 09:04 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,316
Default

Electrical help.


Quote:
Originally Posted by bobelectric View Post
Tie gounds together,put in box.Tie whites together, put in box. Tie reds together,put in box.Tie blacks together with tail for switch. Black for closet light goes to other terminal on switch. Voila!
And this makes the GFCI half-switched?
__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 09:10 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,316
Default

Electrical help.


Here's what I came up with, half-assed though it may be.

__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 09:15 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,216
Default

Electrical help.


I don't get why a switch controling a closet light would also control a bedroom receptacle.
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 09:19 PM   #15
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Default

Electrical help.


That's how I read the OP also, did say there was another black and white leaving the recpt., I was assuming it went to the outside recept.
As you have suggested, half switching a GFCI is not fesible.
I would guess the red wire needs to be disconnected from both the switch and recpt. wire nutted off and tucked into the boxes

Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electrical, light switches, outlets, residential, wiring


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Proper way to ground a subpanel chieftaing Electrical 25 04-03-2011 10:22 AM
Electrical Questions from a Foreigner mark_anderson_u Electrical 4 09-10-2010 06:46 AM
For stacked dryer/washer - where to locate electrical outlets and water supply lines Cliffhanger Electrical 3 09-05-2010 09:48 AM
Electrical Panel Upgrade & Main Water Shut Off DIYerIT Electrical 2 09-02-2010 02:42 PM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 09:33 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.