Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-18-2006, 11:37 PM   #1
Rze
Average Joe
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 53
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Electrical continuity Tool


Is there a electrical wire continuity tester on the market? OK, before you say....what an idiot, of course there is....I am not looking for a circuit continuity tester that you can do from one end with a lead on the Line and one on the Nuetral (or Ground). Rather if I want to make sure that I have the same wire on both ends. I know thare is a tester for coax that you put a "Cap" on one end and test from the other to ensure that it's the same cable on both ends. I have to think that there is an electrical wire equivelent since it would be a great tool for mapping your existing electric.

Thanks!

Rze

Rze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2006, 11:40 PM   #2
World famous jerk.
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: central PA
Posts: 440
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Electrical continuity Tool


Yep. It's called an Ohm meter.

mdshunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2006, 11:46 PM   #3
Rze
Average Joe
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 53
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Electrical continuity Tool


Thanks, but I thought an Ohm meter tested resistance and had two leads that have to be used at the same end. Does an Ohm Meter have a "remote" end and meter end? All the meters I've seen do not.
Rze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2006, 11:54 PM   #4
World famous jerk.
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: central PA
Posts: 440
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Electrical continuity Tool


The "remote" would be a wire nut.

Us electricians call this "ringing out a circuit".
mdshunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2006, 11:56 PM   #5
Rze
Average Joe
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 53
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Electrical continuity Tool


OK...I'll have to experiment with this some and see how it works.

Thanks!
Rze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2006, 06:11 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Electrical continuity Tool


Yes you can buy "cat and mouse" testers for electrical wires. They work by putting a tone on the line, and you use a reciever to find the wire on the other end. The ones that work on live circuits 120vac and up are not cheep.

A telephone tester will work on circuits that are de energized.
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2006, 08:06 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical continuity Tool


I feel kind of stupid stating the obvious, but this is a DIY forum

rze

they are saying to tie two wires together at one end then go to the other end and see witch two now have continuity.
hurricaneflyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2006, 10:17 AM   #8
I blame ProWallGuy
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 244
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Electrical continuity Tool


Quote:
Originally Posted by Rze View Post
Is there a electrical wire continuity tester on the market?
In all fairness, they did answer the poster's question. Its the not-too-old adage, "Garbage in, garbage out."
Double A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2006, 12:58 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,083
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Electrical continuity Tool


Is this for house wiring?

Turn off the circuit breaker and the outlets that are without power will be the wire.


redline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2006, 04:45 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical continuity Tool


Double A, In all fairness, you are quoting rze out of context.

Mad Dog is goofing around with the rze and thats fine. I didn't say anything about it. I get a big kick out of his sense of humor. I just want to help the guy understand also.
hurricaneflyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2006, 05:07 PM   #11
Electrical contractor
 
RobertWilber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Philadelphia area
Posts: 44
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Electrical continuity Tool


ya just need to fill those big tanks with inert material, see, and ....
RobertWilber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2006, 05:10 PM   #12
Electrical contractor
 
RobertWilber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Philadelphia area
Posts: 44
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Electrical continuity Tool


Quote:
Originally Posted by Rze View Post
Thanks, but I thought an Ohm meter tested resistance and had two leads that have to be used at the same end. Does an Ohm Meter have a "remote" end and meter end? All the meters I've seen do not.
yeah, it can have a remote end
buy a spool of thhn, and unroll it to where you want your remote terminal point to be ...

RobertWilber is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's the ICC Electrical Code? Chuck Electrical 7 02-20-2013 11:19 AM
I won't burn this luxury tool, right? KUIPORNG Remodeling 15 03-09-2007 04:11 PM
Is this Cutout Tool OK? ADKstorm Tools 3 01-24-2007 01:08 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.