Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-12-2011, 11:25 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Fountain Valley, CA 92708 (orange county)
Posts: 658
Share |
Default

electrical connection for zephyr range hood.


I've installed a couple of range hoods, and they usually have a wire from the house lines. Is it acceptable to connect a range hood to a heavy duty extension cord and plug it in a regular socket? A contractor did this in one of our kitchens. This hood requires a 120 v 60 hz power supply.

darsunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 11:51 PM   #2
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,895
Default

electrical connection for zephyr range hood.


no

plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 06:06 AM   #3
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

electrical connection for zephyr range hood.


No, cords are for temporary use, not permanent installations.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 07:34 AM   #4
Banned Electrician
 
HARRY304E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: MA, Master Electrician
Posts: 203
Default

electrical connection for zephyr range hood.


Quote:
Originally Posted by darsunt View Post
I've installed a couple of range hoods, and they usually have a wire from the house lines. Is it acceptable to connect a range hood to a heavy duty extension cord and plug it in a regular socket? A contractor did this in one of our kitchens. This hood requires a 120 v 60 hz power supply.
Quote:
Originally Posted by plummen View Post
no
Yes..

Quote:
Originally Posted by SD515 View Post
No, cords are for temporary use, not permanent installations.
Look at 422.16 Flexible Cords(B) Specific Appliances.(4).

Quote:
422.16 Flexible Cords(B) Specific Appliances (4)..
(4) Range Hoods.
Range hoods shall be permitted to be
cord-and-plug-connected with a flexible cord identified as
suitable for use on range hoods in the installation instructions
of the appliance manufacturer, where all of the following
conditions are met:
(1) The flexible cord is terminated with a grounding-type
attachment plug.
Exception: A listed range hood distinctly marked to identify
it as protected by a system of double insulation, or its
equivalent, shall not be required to be terminated with a
grounding-type attachment plug.
(2) The length of the cord is not less than 450 mm (18 in.)
and not over 900 mm (36 in.).
(3) Receptacles are located to avoid physical damage to the
flexible cord.
(4) The receptacle is accessible.
(5) The receptacle is supplied by an individual branch
circuit.
HARRY304E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 08:10 AM   #5
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,979
Default

electrical connection for zephyr range hood.


422.16 says the cord used shall be a suitable appliance cord, 18 to 36" long (not an extension cord). It also says that the receptacle shall be an individual branch circuit.

The scenario the poster describes is not compliant.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to rjniles For This Useful Post:
plummen (12-13-2011), SD515 (12-13-2011)
Old 12-13-2011, 09:52 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Fountain Valley, CA 92708 (orange county)
Posts: 658
Default

electrical connection for zephyr range hood.


I can obtain an appliance cord.
What does it mean by receptacle must be on individual branch circuit?
darsunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 10:48 AM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,741
Default

electrical connection for zephyr range hood.


Quote:
Originally Posted by darsunt View Post
I can obtain an appliance cord.
What does it mean by receptacle must be on individual branch circuit?

A single circuit that supplies only that laod and nothing else.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 11:03 AM   #8
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,895
Default

electrical connection for zephyr range hood.


Notice they say appliance cord and individual branch circuit,basically same as installing one of those built in overhead microwaves in your kitchen.
If your going to all the trouble to run a seperate circuit to mount a plug for it id just take and hard wire it on that seperate circuit myself

plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to plummen For This Useful Post:
SD515 (12-13-2011)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to remove/replace range hood roof vent? TipsyMcStagger Roofing/Siding 2 12-08-2010 09:10 AM
Can range hood and water heater vent share same roof vent? huynh HVAC 3 09-08-2010 03:56 PM
suggestions on contructing a range hood steve1234 Carpentry 15 08-30-2010 10:35 PM
Installing a range hood NewHandyman Electrical 1 08-10-2009 09:42 AM
Range hood, hardwire or receptacle? DIYGST Electrical 11 01-10-2009 06:55 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.