Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-03-2013, 02:19 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical codes for range hood installation


I am installing a range hood with a fan and lights. Do I need a dedicated electrical line and breaker or can I use and existing line? Suffolk County New York codes.

mjrmd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 03:29 PM   #2
JW
 
mm11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 213
Rewards Points: 192
Default

Electrical codes for range hood installation


Look at the instructions- what does it draw?

mm11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 04:08 PM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,876
Rewards Points: 2,106
Default

Electrical codes for range hood installation


Typically this can be on the general lighting circuit. If it is a hood with a huge motor sometimes they call for an individual circuit.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 04:49 PM   #4
Special User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Idaho, US
Posts: 551
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Electrical codes for range hood installation


It's not allowed to be on the kitchen microwave or small appliance (countertop) branch circuits, but you can put it on just about any other 15A/20A circuit that's handy.
__________________
The above post is for entertainment purposes only. Its contents may, and probably will, lead to legal liability and damage or loss of property, life, or limb. Use at your own risk.
tylernt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 04:55 PM   #5
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,805
Rewards Points: 2,408
Default

Electrical codes for range hood installation


If it is hardwired you can add it to a 15 amp general purpose circuit. If cord and plug connected you need an individual branch circuit.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrical loading question jimcorey Electrical 2 12-08-2012 08:27 AM
Couple questions regarding Electrical Codes gregt848 Electrical 15 03-30-2010 03:03 PM
Electricl Installation for Electric Tankless Water Heater Educator Electrical 13 07-06-2008 11:27 AM
Electrical Permits, Codes and Inspections? realeyz Electrical 1 12-28-2005 09:32 AM
residential electrical installation dallas520 Electrical 1 05-15-2005 09:51 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.