Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-10-2012, 02:13 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Electrical Circuit installation


can i wire a drag cord directly into the circuit breaker?

BluJAE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 02:50 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,749
Default

Electrical Circuit installation


I guess you mean a drop cord, and the answer is no.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 03:14 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Electrical Circuit installation


yeah, just a regular 15 amp extension cord, wired in as if it were a single outlet, why not?
BluJAE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 03:23 PM   #4
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,981
Default

Electrical Circuit installation


Quote:
Originally Posted by BluJAE View Post
yeah, just a regular 15 amp extension cord, wired in as if it were a single outlet, why not?
National Electric Code.

Wire a GFCI receptacle next to the breaker box and plug your cord into it.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 03:33 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Electrical Circuit installation


Is the GFCI really necessary? I know my idea is out of code, but I want to know if it is actually dangerous or not, and why. I am renting the basement where I live, and all the outlets here are on 1 ungrounded circuit, I want more circuits without having to do a lot of cutting or drilling. To my limited knowledge, a 15 amp heavy duty extension cord has all the same thermal and electrical properties as residential electrical wire.
BluJAE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 04:05 PM   #6
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,985
Default

Electrical Circuit installation


Quote:
Originally Posted by BluJAE View Post
Is the GFCI really necessary? I know my idea is out of code, but I want to know if it is actually dangerous or not, and why. I am renting the basement where I live, and all the outlets here are on 1 ungrounded circuit, I want more circuits without having to do a lot of cutting or drilling. To my limited knowledge, a 15 amp heavy duty extension cord has all the same thermal and electrical properties as residential electrical wire.
Tell your land lord you need more electrical requirements.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 04:09 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 139
Default

Electrical Circuit installation


National Electric Code was written for a reason.

You said it yourself you have limited knowledge. And what you want to do is mess with the main panel, which can have all sorts of disastrous effects if you hook it up wrong, whether it be you shocking yourself to death just opening the panel, or trying to install the wiring, to possibly burning it down if you don't correctly wire it.

And even though the Cord may be rated for 15 amps, it isn't rated the same as actual electrical cord.

Either get an electrician to install another box, talk to your landlord about having it done, or stick with what you have
jimmyfloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 04:15 PM   #8
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

Electrical Circuit installation


Quote:
Originally Posted by BluJAE View Post
yeah, just a regular 15 amp extension cord, wired in as if it were a single outlet, why not?
Why don't you just wire an outlet?

__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MIG Welder Electrical Supply Circuit Specs exciterfan Electrical 26 07-10-2012 05:15 PM
Electrical Circuit Fix travholl Electrical 1 11-11-2011 03:18 PM
electrical circuit darr Electrical 4 01-19-2011 07:45 AM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 09:33 AM
residential electrical installation dallas520 Electrical 1 05-15-2005 08:51 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.