Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-27-2011, 06:54 PM   #1
I have gas!
 
Clutchcargo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,771
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Electrical Chase


My first plan was to run all the electrical to the 2nd floor (2 story house) together in a chase in the middle of the house. Now I'm looking at my open walls and thinking it would be a lot less wire if I run 2 or 3 separate chases up the exterior walls to the 3 bedrooms and bath. Total of about 5 circuits at most.
Is there any reason I should not do this?

__________________
I tear things down and build them up.
Clutchcargo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 07:07 PM   #2
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Electrical Chase


No, code wise it is legal. A sub panel in the attic may be more efficient.

Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 07:10 PM   #3
I have gas!
 
Clutchcargo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,771
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Electrical Chase


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05 View Post
No, code wise it is legal. A sub panel in the attic may be more efficient.
Thanks, sub-panel is not an option because the attic isn't easily accessible.
__________________
I tear things down and build them up.
Clutchcargo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 07:25 PM   #4
I have gas!
 
Clutchcargo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,771
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Electrical Chase


One other question, is a 3/4" hole sufficient for 2-12/2 wires?
__________________
I tear things down and build them up.
Clutchcargo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 07:26 PM   #5
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,583
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Electrical Chase


A 3/4 hole will be fine for 2 12-2 cables.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY Electrical work in New Jersey electures Electrical 42 12-19-2012 03:19 PM
Electrical Questions from a Foreigner mark_anderson_u Electrical 4 09-10-2010 06:46 AM
Changing from Electrical Cook Top to Electrical Range EkS Electrical 24 06-22-2010 10:43 AM
Electrical Engineer allowed to do Electrical work? SarahJennifer Electrical 48 09-21-2009 08:15 PM
Electrical box replace,addiitions, city permits and looking for an electrician ramchy Electrical 3 08-02-2009 11:12 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.