Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-11-2010, 04:01 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

electrical boxes


Is a seperate wire needed or does code call for a grd wire from the plug to the back of the box ?

Baldeegel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 04:46 PM   #2
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

electrical boxes


I presume this is a metal box (if it wasn't, it wouldn't make any sense to connect a ground wire to the box). So, if the receptacle is of a self grounding type, you would not have to make such a wire connection. If it isn't self grounding, you must have a wire from the ground connection on the recep to the egc within the box.

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
fitting electrical wires to back boxes 1st fix Minimin Off Topic 2 05-03-2010 04:38 PM
Installing electrical boxes MikeyP Electrical 4 07-26-2009 09:32 AM
Air Sealing of Electrical Boxes on exterior walls PerpetuallyRepairing Electrical 6 07-14-2009 08:38 AM
Blue electrical boxes are to far in the drywall smblank3 Drywall & Plaster 3 05-18-2009 11:37 PM
Electrical boxes in attic Cossack Electrical 6 02-27-2008 02:08 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.