Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-17-2008, 07:37 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

electrical box question


posted this on the general forum too......

ok so i have another issue. i have two electrical boxes that have somehow been jammed about 1/2 to 2/3 of the way back, and i CANT get them back up, stuckon something and i dont want to tear drywall.

i have simply pulled the two outlets and wiring out of the box and it fits on the wall with just a longer screw. two questions:

a) is this fine or does it pose a serious hazard that wiring is outside the box and could touch the inside of the drywall where the box was cut
b) do they sell like a box extender? or could i wrap the hole in electrical tape to avoid hazard?

thanks

iminvalid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2008, 08:09 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Near Philly
Posts: 2,039
Rewards Points: 10
Default

electrical box question


"that have somehow been jammed about 1/2 to 2/3 of the way back, and i CANT get them back up, stuckon something and i dont want to tear drywall." I don't understand I think: is this one box ganged together or two separate boxes? What kind of boxes did you use? I assume they are in a wall covered with drywall?
Overall, the outlets need to be completely in the box, which should sit flush with the finished wall, unless you surface mount the box. Maybe someone else understands the original post ( a picture would help).

bob22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2008, 08:28 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 0
Default

electrical box question


ya i moved into a place that has drywall over drywall

do they make electrical box extenders? its flush,just too far back

thanks
iminvalid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2008, 08:42 PM   #4
BUILDER / REMODELING CONT
 
buletbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: LONG ISLAND N.Y
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 0
Default

electrical box question


Yes they do make extension sleeves for the box's they start at 1/4" and seen them as big as 1-1/4". any electrical store should have the.
yes you need them. BOB
buletbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2008, 09:50 PM   #5
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,585
Rewards Points: 4
Default

electrical box question


Try the Arlington BE1. Should be available at electrical supply houses.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2008, 11:55 PM   #6
Cow
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 116
Rewards Points: 0
Default

electrical box question


Yep, no big deal. Just use one of those^^^.

We call them arc shields or spark shields.

Cow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Home Electrical / Car Stereo Question pjpjpjpj Electrical 4 08-12-2012 06:59 PM
electrical box question iminvalid General DIY Discussions 1 08-17-2008 08:18 PM
Code Question: Electrical and plumbing ELurie Electrical 2 08-22-2007 08:55 PM
Noob question for basement finish electrical dtmbizzle Electrical 16 07-11-2007 07:08 AM
Electrical receptacle replacement question sherlock Electrical 7 05-20-2005 03:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.